Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Real Estate Development: Find Articles

Research & instructional support for Clemson University's MRED program in Greenville, SC

Use the Libraries Catalog to find Articles

FindIt
A single search interface connects you to the vast majority of Clemson Libraries resources, in all formats, including most of our eJournals and the entire library catalog, plus holdings at other academic libraries within South Carolina, otherwise known as PASCAL.

"Articles, Books, and More" is the best option to begin with when:

  • You're just beginning on a topic and need to get an overall sense of the types of resources available.
  • You'll get a lot of results, which you can then limit to a specific format (e.g., journal articles, trade publication articles) or to peer-reviewed content.
  • You can also focus your results on a specific date range, or add more keywords to narrow your search.
  • OR, you know exactly what you're looking for, such as a specific article title, or articles in a specific eJournal or by a particular author.

Use Article Databases to find Articles

This guide's Building/Planning Resources and Business Resources pages provide links to a full range of article databases covering real estate development issues and topics from a variety of perspectives.

Article databases provide a way to search for articles on particular subjects in magazines or journals. These resources are compiled by specialists in each discipline, or by teams of specialists across a range of disciplines. Each database entry provides information about an article's content and context, so that scholars and researchers can determine the article's usefulness to their work. Databases may include or link out to the full text and/or graphics of articles, or they may include only the author, title, date, journal title, issue, and page numbers for each article (that is, the article citation).

  • A general article database, such as Academic Search Premier, might cover 1500 journals or magazines published in many subject areas.
  • A specialized article database might cover a few hundred journals published in one particular subject area, and include other types of publications that pertain to that area of research, such as technical papers, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.

Need to know more? Article Databases in Five Minutes (NCSU) is a short video describing the basic features of these essential research tools.

Clemson University Libraries subscribe to several hundred different article databases. All are listed on our Databases A-Z page. Access to these requires a current Clemson ID.

Easy Access to Full Text of Articles

  • If the article you need is available online, follow the links in the library catalog to access it.
  • If you have an article citation that indicates an e-journal Clemson Libraries own but aren't seeing a direct link to it, find the e-journal in the catalog and drill down using the year, volume, issue and page number information in the citation.
  • For articles available only in print at Clemson, follow the instructions on the Libraries' Scan & Deliver service page.
  • If your article is NOT available at Clemson, place an Interlibrary Loan request (it's free). Sign in to place a new request for the article.

Use the Libraries Catalog to Find Articles

The Clemson Library Catalog does not contain your article, but you can use it to gain access to an article by locating the JOURNAL the article appears in.

  1. WHEN YOU ALREADY HAVE AN ARTICLE CITATION FROM A DATABASE OR OTHER SOURCE: Search in the catalog for the Journal Title you need. (Example: You need the article "Equitable Approaches to Local Economic Development," published in Policy Studies Journal. To find out if we have it at Clemson, search for Policy Studies Journal, using the 'Journal Title' option in the dropdown menu to the left of the search box.)
  2. WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE A CITATION BUT NEED TO IDENTIFY A LIKELY JOURNAL FOR YOUR TOPIC: If you don't have a specific article yet, search the catalog for an eJournal that's likely to cover your topic (Hint: start with the list on this guide's Find Journals page).
  • Start with a keyword search. Limit "Material Type" to 'Journals.' Then select the "Available Online" limiter in the lefthand column of the search page to limit to e-journals.
  • Follow the links to the journal's interface page (linking to individual issues by date, volume, and number), and use your topic terms to "Search within this publication." (The search option will vary according to publisher; look for the search box.)