Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Bet Resources
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The gold standard index to professional, scholarly, and popular journals in architecture, planning, interior design, landscape, and related fields. Citations, 1930s-present; abstracts, 1990s-present; selective coverage back to the 1860s.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
Articles, news, reviews, product listings, and case studies on topics related to green design and construction. Use search box located to the right of the page heading.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
more than 730 full-text journals in nursing and allied health; 1937-present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
All aspects of human impact to the environment--global warming, green building, pollution management, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more; coverage dates vary by publication.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
full-text nursing and allied health information; 1975-present
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare; mid-1960s-present
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
journals, dissertations, Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Excellent for topic searches across a range of subjects, but especially useful for identifying articles that cite a seminal or 'benchmark' resource (use 'Cited Ref' search). Web of Science includes Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Exclusively academic--does not cover magazines or professional design reviews literature.
TLCat - Transportation Libraries Catalog
A subset of WorldCat, this is a searchable database of transportation-related books and other materials held in government, university and other transportation libraries .
TRID This link opens in a new window
Online index of the Transportation Research Board and the National Transportation Library
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus; dates vary by index
Also Useful for Building & Planning Research
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general resource covering all subject areas, 1965-present.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present (sources, 1964-present)
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and other sources covering virtually all subject areas related to business, 1922-present.
Engineering Village (Compendex, INSPEC & Knovel) This link opens in a new window
Engineering and related fields, 1884-present
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of 10,000+ environmental sciences serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Index of news, business, law, and general reference (includes polls and surveys); past 10 years plus.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related fields, 1872-present.
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles, book chapters, and papers in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, educaton, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Many journals are full-text, as are 750 books and 7,000 conference papers. Covers 1895-present.
Use Resources Outside Your Comfort Zone
Use the Research link on the Clemson Libraries homepage to identify the most useful research guides for specific subject areas. You can also use our Databases A-Z page to browse databases by title (or keyword search the entire list). General databases covering multiple subjects are located at the bottom right of the Research page.
Clemson Databases A-Z
Currently 647 databases, sortable by subject. Another focusing option: search the descriptions by keyword
Google Scholar w/Clemson links
Tips for Article Searching
While many databases include links to online full text in HTML and/or
PDF format (either directly or via a "Check for full text" link), others
do not--often because the journal cited is not available
electronically, or because of licensing restrictions, or because our
library does not subscribe to the electronic version. Use the tips in
the "Where is my article?" box (at left) to locate an article when
online full text is not available.
Beware! If you limit your search to online Full Text results, you risk missing out on critically important articles only available in print. You also risk missing out on stuff that is available digitally in full text but is not directly linked to your database's results page.