Research and Course Guides: Historic Preservation: Home

What's New

Digital Techniques for Heritage Presentation and Preservation by Jaẏanta Mukhopādhyāẏa et al., ed.
2021, e-book
Maryville, the Audacity of a People by Diane Hamilton
CDCL LOCAL F279.M359 H3 2021
Reconstructing the Garrick: Adler & Sullivan's Lost Masterpiece by John Vinci et al.
ARCH PN2277 .C452 R43 2021
Sunnyside Gardens: Planning and preservation in a historic garden suburb by Jeffrey Kroessler
2022, e-book
Historic Preservation Law by Sara Bronin
CDCL REF KF4310 .B76 2021
The Object of Conservation: An ethnography of preservation practice by Siân Jones
ARCH CC135 .J66 2022

Resources for the M.S.H.P. Program

Clemson's Master of Science in Historic Preservation degree program and the Certificate in Historic Preservation program are based in the Clemson Design Center, located in the renovated Cigar Factory on Charleston's East Bay Street. HP faculty and students work in close collaboration with a number of Charleston-based institutions and initiatives, including The College of Charleston, the sites and collections of the Historic Charleston Foundation, the Preservation Society of Charleston, the American College of the Building Arts, The Charleston Museum, and Drayton Hall, a National Trust site. [For all things Charleston, be sure to check out Ina's List, here.]

Quick Links to Key Resources

See also Visual Arts, Landscape Architecture, and City & Regional Planning "Find Articles" pages.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Broad subject range, 1965-present. Excellent starting point on new topics.
Accessible Archives via History Commons This link opens in a new window
accounts of American historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records
AmDocs This link opens in a new window
documents for the study of American history, arranged chronologically
Census Data This link opens in a new window
This provides population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory to the present), published 1964-present
American Memory This link opens in a new window
browse or search Library of Congress' vast collection of digitized materials
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields. Article citations + abstracts, 1984-present; full text, 1997-present. Limited to 4 simultaneous users. Peer-reviewed limits: Yes. Learn more: http://www.hwwilson.com/databases/artindex.htm
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields, 1929-1984 Limited to one simultaneous user.
Artstor Digital Library (Artstor is part of JSTOR; current platform will sunset on 8/1/24) This link opens in a new window
Nearly one million images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and visual culture spanning many time periods and cultures; select, view, present, and manage images for research and teaching purposes Uses cookies and pop-ups. To request instructor-level access, contact Kathy Edwards, kathye@clemson.edu
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The 'gold standard' index of professional, scholarly, and popular journals in architecture, planning, interior design, landscape, and related fields. Citations, 1930s-present; abstracts, 1990s-present; selective coverage back to the 1860s. Limiting results to peer-reviewed journals is not an option.

BCIN: Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information NetworK
The Web's most complete bibliographic resource for the conservation, preservation and restoration of cultural property, containing data from a worldwide network of libraries and documentation centres, including previously unavailable material from private sources. A trusted resource for professionals, museums and other heritage organizations.

Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new window
Public-access resource hosted by the Getty Research Institute. Coverage up to 2008. View background and link to list of publications covered
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
Engineering Village (Compendex, GeoRef, INSPEC & Knovel) This link opens in a new window
Articles, studies, technical papers, and reports in the many fields of engineering, including structures and materials. Occasionally useful for conservation and materials topics.
Fire Insurance Maps Online (FIMo) This link opens in a new window
Enables deep dive into a building or neighborhood's physical history. Explore, overlay, and download fire insurance maps, real estate atlases, plat books, local maps, and more. States covered: South Carolina, North Carolina, Georgia and Tennessee.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust contains millions of digitized publications from around the world, mainly from library, Google, and Internet Archive initiatives. To log in as a Clemson University member: click on LOG IN in the top right corner, select Clemson University from the dropdown menu, then Continue, and log in to the network using your CU username and password
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
World history from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada), published 1954-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than 1300 full-text (PDF) scholarly journals, searchable by subject area.
JSTOR Early Journal Content This link opens in a new window
Full-tex,t scholarly journals published before 1923.
19th Century Masterfile This link opens in a new window
Index to American and English periodical articles, 1786-1922
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Over 2500 scholarly journals and 300 eBooks. Useful resource on certain conservation resources
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
index to 200+ core academic and policy journals; 1973-present
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Science, Arts & Humanities, and Social Sciences, and Conference Proceedings citation indexes. Search by topic, author, journal title, conference, or citation.

Art & Architecture Librarian/Director, Gunnin Architecture Library

Ann Holderfield

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Lee Hall 2-112E

864-656-4289

Subjects: Architecture, Art & Art History, City & Regional Planning, City Planning & Real Estate Development, Construction Science & Management, Historic Preservation, Landscape Architecture, Planning, Design & the Built Environment, Real Estate Development, Urban Design

Library Research Tools

Ask A Librarian
Databases A-Z
FindIt - All Clemson & PASCAL collections
Advanced search--the best
Journal Title Search
For e-journals, select "Available Online" on the left
Interlibrary Loan - Login
Research Guides
Emery A. Gunnin Architecture Library

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

Clemson OPEN (formerly TigerPrints) This link opens in a new window
Clemson theses & dissertations. For terminal projects, select 'Student Works,' then 'Non-thesis final projects.' Requires Clemson VPN connection.

Clemson University Libraries