Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Planning, Design & the Built Environment: Books & Media

Resources for the interdisciplinary PDBE doctoral program

Find Books in the Libraries Catalog

Use the Libraries catalog's Advanced Search for the most focused results -- books, journals, articles, media and more.

Start with the @Clemson Libraries option for physical items and licensed e-resources. Expand your search to PASCAL Delivers to include in your results what our South Carolina partner libraries have to offer.

  • Combine Advanced Search with appropriate search limits : material type, online availability, exact title, etc.
  • In any item record, click on a subject heading to browse related materials. Subject heading searches are super-efficient.
  • Within an item record, scroll down to "Browse" to 'scan the shelves' for related items, virtually. Call numbers (items classed together by subject matter) are meaningful.
  • For e-books related to your search terms, select "Available online" under the Availability heading, to the right of your results.

Request items from any Libraries location for pickup at the Cooper Library, the Gunnin Architecture Library, or the Clemson Design Center Library in Charleston. The Request link is in the item record. ALWAYS sign in to the catalog, to see all delivery options. The sign in option is at the upper right of the Advanced Search page.

Off-Campus Delivery Service - if you live over 30 miles from the Clemson campus, items can be mailed to you.

Scan and Deliver - Request articles and book chapters as PDFs, delivered to your email address.

Find Dissertations/Theses/Terminal Projects

Search Dissertations and Theses - Full Text to identify dissertations (1861-present) and theses (1957-present) in all subject areas from over 1,000 universities (including Clemson University), many of which are available in full text online.

To access full-text dissertations and theses specific to Clemson University, use the Clemson University Electronic Theses and Dissertations database (2006-present) and our TigerPrints institutional repository (1996-present).

You can also search the Libraries catalog by author or title to find out whether a specific dissertation, thesis, or final project (also known as "terminal project") is available in the Libraries. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not in CU Libraries collections.

Get books from beyond Clemson

If Clemson doesn't own the book, journal, or other material you need, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request it from other research libraries. It's free! but you must create a personal account in order to use it, and plan ahead: ILL can be fast or slow, depending on the type of material and which library responds.

WorldCat is the combined catalog of thousands of participating academic & museum libraries in 112+ countries and contains 1.5 billion+ item records.

  • Clemson holdings will be indicated and linked
  • Request materials through Interlibrary Loan

PASCAL Delivers provides access to the shared resources of South Carolina academic libraries

  • At the start of any Libraries catalog search, choose PASCAL Delivers to look beyond Clemson
  • Within any item record showing PASCAL holdings, click on "Request via PASCAL Delivers" to have that item delivered to you

Google Book Search

When all else fails and/or you're feeling lucky:

Google Book Search

Request Books

Interlibrary Loan
It's free! But can take time - plan ahead!

'Hold' or recall a book
Click on the Hold/Recall button at the top, left of an individual record to recall a checked out item or place it on hold (to be next in line to check it out). You'll receive an email when the item becomes available.

To add a title to the Gunnin Collection:
Contact collection development librarian Kathy Edwards
112 Lee Hall
Phone: 864.656.4289
Email: kathye [at] clemson.edu