Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Books in Architecture
Digital Resources for Architecture!
Building Types Online: International contemporary buildings organized by type with over 5,000 drawings, 2,000 photos, 850 case studies, and 120+ thematic articles with extensive search options. High-quality technical drawings and downloadable vector-based plans from the Birkhäuser program on building types. Updated annually.
Architectural & urbanism projects from 30 years of DETAIL magazine coverage. 3,000+ international project entries, with detailed design drawings. Updated with projects from each new issue of DETAIL. Several search options; all projects available for download. (PDF access not compatible with Chrome browser.) [More information.]
: Audiovisual Archive of Contemporary Architecture -- Video archive of contemporary architecture from across the world. Interviews with designers and walk-throughs of their buildings.
Best Article Indexes for Architecture
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
architecture and related fields; 1930s-present with some coverage back to the 1860s
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Recent addition! Broad spectrum coverage of art, architecture, design, history, literature, philosophy, and cultural studies
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields; 1984-present
Limit: 4 simultaneous users
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields; 1929-1984
Limit: 1 user at a time
Artstor Digital Library This link opens in a new window
More than 2 million images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and visual culture. [To download & save images, register for a personal account--it's free]
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Public-access resource hosted by the Getty Research Institute. Coverage up to 2007. For background and link to list of publications covered, visit http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/bha/.
RIBA British Architectural Library Catalog
Citation index of journal articles in architecture, construction, design, landscape, and planning from 300 journals worldwide. Coverage: 1980s-present (selective earlier articles). Predominantly European. Includes books, manuscripts, drawings, and photos in BAL collections.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
articles, news, reviews, product listings, and case studies related to green design and construction
CumInCAD is an open-access Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design
supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
all aspects of human impact to the environment; dates vary by publication
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,300 core scholarly journals, including 26 architecture, planning, landscape architecture, and architectural history journals.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
includes Grove Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
index to 200+ core academic and policy journals; 1973-present
Library Research Tools
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
TigerPrints This link opens in a new window
Clemson theses & dissertations. For terminal projects, select 'Student Works,' then 'Non-thesis final projects.' Requires Clemson VPN connection.