Reference Books can be helpful to use if you're interested in reading broadly about a subject/topic/theme or if you want to zoom in and learn more about specific topics (like in dictionaries). They are a recommended first step to research and can be helpful refreshers.
This is a list of general archtiectural dictionaries. Please see the Biographical tab for a list of biographical dictionaries of architects.
50 Architects You Should Know. Isabel Kühl, Kristina Lowis, Sabine Thiel-Siling. Munich, New York: Prestel, 2008.
African-American Architects: A Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945. Dreck Spurlock Wilson, ed. New York: Routledge, 2004.
African-American Architects in Current Practice. Jack Travis, ed. New York: Princeton Architectural Press, [1991].
American Architects: A Survey of Award-Winning Contemporaries and Their Notable Works. Les Krantz. New York: Facts on File, 1989.
Biographical Dictionary of American Architects (Deceased). Henry F. Withey & Elsie Rathburn Withey. Los Angeles: Hennessey & Ingalls, 1970 [Facsimile ed., c1956] OR Detroit: Omnigraphics, 1996 [Reprint of 1970 facsimile edition].
Biographical Dictionary of British Architects, 1600-1840, 4th ed. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008.
Contemporary American Architects. (4 vols.) Philip Jodidio. Koln, Germany: Taschen: 1993-1998.
Contemporary Architects, 3rd ed. Muriel Emanuel, ed. London, Detroit: St. James Press, 1994.
Contemporary Asian Architects. Hasan-Uddin Kahn. Köln [Germany], New York: Taschen, 1995.
Contemporary European Architects. (5 vols.) Wolfgang Amsoneit, Dirk Meyhöfer, Philip Jodidio. Köln [Germany], New York: Taschen, 1991-1998.
Dictionary of Architecture and Building: Biographical, Historical and Descriptive (3 vols.). Russell Sturgis [et al.]. Detroit: Gale Research, 1966, 1902. Reprint of 1902 edition.
Directory, African-American Architects, 2nd ed. Cincinnati, Ohio : Center for the Study of the Practice of Architecture, College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning, University of Cincinnati, 1991- (1996). Journal.
Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering, and Construction (5 vols.). Joseph A. Wilkes, Robert T. Packard. New York: Wiley, 1988-89.
Encyclopedia of Architecture: Historical, Theoretical, and Practical. Joseph Gwilt, Wyatt Papworth. New York: Bonanza Books. Dist. by Crown Publishers, 1982, 1867. OUT OF PRINT.
Encyclopedia of Modern Architecture. Wolfgang Pehnt. New York: H. N. Abrams, 1964.
Encyclopedia of World Art. Bernard Samuel Myers. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1959-1987.
English Mediaeval Architects: A Biographical Dictionary down to 1550, rev. ed. John Harvey, Arthur Oswald. Gloucester: A. Sutton, 1984.
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Architects and Architecture. Dennis Sharp. New York: Whitney Library of Design, 1991.
International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture, Vol. 1: Architects. Doreen Yarwood, Suhail Butt. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993.
International Directory of Architecture and Design. Senlis, France: DID S.A.R.L., 1992- (Serial, Biennial).
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Architects (4 vols.). Adolf A. Placzek. New York: Free Press, 1982.
Master Builders: A Guide to Famous American Architects. Diane Maddex. Washington, D.C.: Preservation Press, 1985.
A Short Dictionary of British Architects. Dora Ware. London: Allen & Unwin, 1967.
Who's Who in Architecture: From 1400 to the Present. J. M. Richards. New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1977.