Skip to main content

Architecture: Cost Estimating

Resources in support of first-degree and graduate studio programs in architecture

Handbooks, Indexes & Data Resources

Architects, contractors, engineers guide to construction costs. Minneapolis, MN: A.C. & E.E. Pub. Co., 1970- . (Serial; annual). ISSN 0066-6157

Contractor's pricing guide. Residential detailed costs. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 1994- (Serial; annual). ISSN:1074-0481.

Contractor's pricing guide. Residential square foot costs. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 1994- . (Serial; annual). ISSN:1074-049X.

Green building: Project planning & cost estimating: A practical guide for constructing sustainable buildings: Cost data for green materials, components & systems; special project requirements; financial analysis & incentives. Andrea Keenan. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means, 2002.

Green building square foot costbook. Vista, CA. BNi Building News, 2009- . (Serial; annual).
       Alt. title: Sweets green building square foot costbook 2010.

Marshall Valuation Service. Los Angeles: Marshall & Swift. (Looseleaf, continual updates.).

Means construction cost indexes. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co. (Serial; periodical; quarterly). ISSN 0361-9591

Means CostWorks. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 1998- . (Serial; annual) CD-ROM (see above left)

R.S. Means series. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co. Annual cost estimating guides. Current editions shelved in Reference.

Assemblies cost data
Building construction cost data
Concrete & masonry cost data
Electrical cost data
Facilities construction cost data
Facility maintenance & repair cost data
Green building cost data
Heavy construction cost data
Interior cost data
Light commercial cost data
Mechanical cost data
Metric construction costs data
Open shop building construction cost data
Plumbing cost data
Repair & remodeling cost data
Residential repair & remodeling cost data
Residential cost data
Site work & landscape cost data
Square foot costs

Residential construction costs 2010. Stanley J. Strychaz, Jody Brumfield, Anthony E. DiPaolo.Chatsworth, CA: Saylor Publications, Inc., 1994- . (Annual; manual + CD-ROM).

Residential cost handbook. Los Angeles: Marshall & Swift, 1983- . (Looseleaf; updated quarterly).

RSMeans estimating handbook [: the essential reference required for construction estimating and cost analysis]. 3rd ed. Barbara Balboni, John Chiang. Kingston, MA: R.S. Means Co., 2009. ISBN 9780876292730
       Alt. titles: Estimating handbook; Means estimating handbook.

Methods & Manuals

From concept to bid: Successful estimating methods. ARCH TH435 .B65 1992

How to estimate with Means data & CostWorks: Learn how to estimate using the nation's most recognized construction cost source. 3rd ed. (Includes CD-ROM) ARCH TH435 .H88697 2006

Means Estimating Handbook, 2nd ed. ARCH REF TH435 .M42 2003 

Square foot & assemblies estimating methods. 3rd ed.ARCH REF TH435 .S7338 2001 

Unit price estimating methods. 4th ed. ARCH REF TH435 .M442 2007