Skip to main content

New RefWorks: Using Write-N-Cite for Microsoft Word

Using Write-N-Cite to Write and Format Your Paper

Write-N-Cite allows you to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in Microsoft Word and:

  • access your references by folder (or sub-folder), by quick search, or by all references with the ability to sort by author, title, or year
  • cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes, and your bibliography.  
  • work online or offline – no need to be connected to the internet
  • share documents between the Windows and Mac versions of Write-N-Cite

Write-N-Cite installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon. You can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.
 

Write-N-Cite for Windows version 4.4.1376 System Requirements

  • Windows Operating System
  • Windows 8 or later
  • 256 MB of RAM
  • 20 MB of available hard-disk space
  • Internet connectivity (for downloading of tool and periodic database synchronization)

Write-N-Cite for Windows works best with Word 2013 and 2016 (32 bit versions). This version will NOT work with Word 2007 or Win 7, both which are no longer supported by Microsoft. Word 2007 and/or Win 7 users should use our Quick Cite feature or our Google Docs Add-on. Write-N-Cite will not work with Office 365 users using cloud-based app. Word must be installed locally.

  XP, Vista, Win 7 (32 bit) Win 7 (64 bit) Win 8 (32 bit) Win 8 (64 bit) Win 10 (64 bit)
Office 2007 (32 bit) No No No No No
Office 2010 (32 bit) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Office 2010 (64 bit) No Yes, but may encounter install errors.Contact RefWorks Tech Support for help. No Yes, but may encounter install errors. Contact RefWorks Tech Support for help. No
Office 2013 (32 bit) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Office 2013 (64 bit) No Yes No Yes Yes
Office 2016 (32 bit) Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes
Office 2016 (64 bit) No Yes No Yes Yes

Write-N-Cite version version 4.4.1237 for Mac

Works with:

  • OS X 10.11 ( El Capitan), 10.10 (Yosemite), 10.9 (Mavericks), 10.6 (Snow Leopard), 10.7 (Lion), and 10.8 (Mountain Lion)
  • Word 2011 & 2008

Mac OX 10.9 and 10.10 users must download Java 6 from Apple's support site, replacing any previously installed versions.

Note:  Write-N-Cite for Mac does NOT work with Word 2016 at this time.

Working with Write-N-Cite

You can get started with Write-N-Cite easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while writing your paper.

The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite.

In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it. If you are using Write-N-Cite on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work. If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks library logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your items.

Log In to Write-N-Cite

  1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon.


     

  2. Click Log In.

     
  3. Click "Flow" and then enter your email address and Flow password and click "Login".

     

The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library. This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections. Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to Write-N-Cite.

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

The first thing you want to do is select an output style for your document. Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

  1. Click the Style drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.
  2. Click on the style name.
  3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.



 

You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.

To insert an in-text citation into your paper

  1. Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option. 

  2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching.  The Search box will search every field.


    Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title.  Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).

    Full Reference View:


  3. Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper. You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.

    Tip:  Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.

  4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

To insert a footnote into your paper

To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area. Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action. However, you can always add a new in-text citation.

To insert a bibliography

You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.

  1. Place the cursor wherever you would like to insert your bibliography
  2. Click Bibliography Options
  3. Select Insert Bibliography 

If you need to change the location of your bibliography, click Remove Bibliography and re-insert.

Save your formatted paper - you should really save it periodically while you are writing!

Loading

Installing Write-N-Cite

Installation Instructions

Need Help?

Have questions about the new RefWorks or need some technical support? Their Support Team is also available for help.

Email them or call 1- 800-521-0600 ext. 74440. Support hours are Monday – Friday 8am – 9pm ET.

Their Customer Resources page is also available online anytime:

New RefWorks Webinars & Screencasts

ProQuest offers several webinars on many different topics each month.