Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States Constitution
From the U.S. Senate, this annotated version of the Constitution provides the original text (left-hand column) with commentary about the meaning of the original text & how it has changed since 1789 (right-hand column). Free resource.
Charters of Freedom
Official versions from the National Archives of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution of the United States, & the Bill of Rights. View & download images of the original documents or read transcripts. Free resource.
U.S. Statutes at Large
KF50 .U5 (1st Floor)
1937 to present
Text of laws as passed by Congress & signed by the presidents
Congressional Documents Online
Congressional Legislation Search
Formerly "Thomas" from the Library of Congress. Now part of Congress.gov. Track legislation, view sessions live, read the Congressional Record & committee reports, etc., back to the 101st Congress, 1989-90. CR app available for download. Free resource.
HeinOnline: U.S. Statutes at Large
From 1789 to the present, full text of laws as passed by Congress & signed by the Presidents.
American State Papers, (1789-1838) This link opens in a new window
Search & browse this retrospective collection of largely Congressional, but also Executive, documents of the first fourteen U.S. Congresses. The nearly 6,300 publications are a rich source of primary material on wide-ranging aspects of early American history. CU subscription.
Current lists of members, legislative activities, most-viewed bills, etc. Free resource.
Guide to Congress (CQ Press)
A complete institutional history of Congress along with updated insight & analysis on recent shifts in power of the U.S. Senate & House of Representatives.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
This collection includes coverage in literature, music, political science, psychology, and religion.
Ref JK1 .C749 (1st Floor)
1945 to present
Overview of Congressional actions & documents year-by-year.