Skip to Main Content

Centers of Excellence - ASERL CFDP

This guide provides information about the Collaborative Federal Depository Program (CFDP) and the 3 agencies for which Clemson is a Center of Excellence.

National Park Service


A unit of the U.S. Department of Interior, the National Park Service (NPS) is dedicated to protecting the nation's flora, fauna, and habitats.


"The National Park Service cares for special places saved by the American people so that all may experience our heritage."

Interesting Facts from the NPS Website

  • In 2011, National Parks had almost 279 million visitors.
  • Yellowstone National Park was established in 1872 as the first national park.
  • National parks cover more than 84 million acres and are in every state but Delaware.
  • The arrowhead emblem was adopted in 1951 and was officially registered in 1965 with the US Patent Office.
  • South Carolina is home to 5 national parks:
    • Cowpens National Battlefield
    • Kings Mountain National Military Park
    • Ninety Six National Historic Site
    • Charles Pinckney National Historic Site
    • Fort Sumter National Monument