Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite
reference works on government and politics including Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and Washington Information Directory
Oxford Reference Online: Social Sciences
search and browse discipline-specific reference sources
Print Reference Sources
In Cooper Library reference collection, 4th (main) floor
Oxford Handbook of Public Management
Call Number: JF1351 .O94 2005
Encyclopedia of Governance by
Call Number: JC11 .E53 2007
International Dictionary of Public Management & Governance by
Call Number: JA61 .B48 2005
Dictionary of Public Policy & Administration
Call Number: Reference (4th floor) H97 .S483 2004
Handbook of Public Administration by
Call Number: JF1351 .H274 2003
Basic Desk References
Book of the States
Call Number: JK2403 .B72, latest in Reference
Published yearly by the Council of State Governments (linked below) since 1935, this book series provides detailed information on state finances, legislative & executive actions, administration, policies, & programs.
Municipal Year Book
Call Number: JS344 .C5A24, latest in Reference
"Local government issues, trends, facts, & resources" ; our holdings date back to the 1940s. Published by the International City/County Management Association, linked below.
Online Sources about Governments
Council of State Governments
Excellent source for current issues in state government, with useful content from the CSG Knowledge Center "Data Center" & "Resources" pages.
International City/County Management Association
An organization for local government professionals, ICMA provides data, documents & articles through its "Knowledge Network," as well as news, blogs, etc.
2020 South Carolina Legislative Manual
A directory of the General Assembly, Congressional delegations, state agencies & federal agencies within South Carolina.
United States Government Manual
Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, & executive branches, & much more.