Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics about Governments
American National Election Studies
Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, & political participation
Federal, State & Local Governments
Government employment, payroll, & financial statistics, along with tax revenues & information on the structure of state & local governments
SIPP: Survey of Income & Program Participation
Purpose: To collect source & amount of income, labor force information, program participation & eligibility data, & general demographic characteristics to measure the effectiveness of existing federal, state, & local programs
General Social Statistics
American Community Survey
An ongoing Census Bureau survey that provides data every year - giving communities the current information they need to plan investments & services
Federal Statistics Sources
Census & Other agency statistics sources
Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Provides data on national accounts, as well as state & local area personal income, GDP for states & metropolitan areas, & a link to the Survey of Current Business
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research
Hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Clemson University is a Class B member; there are currently no costs associated with this service.
Clemson's ICPSR Official Representative is Sandi Piazza at 656-3712.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive handbook of statistics, with links to more focused sources such as the State & Metropolitan Area Data Book, County & City Data Book, etc.
Uniform Crime Reports
Data on crime in the United States from the FBI.
Statistics on South Carolina/the States
South Carolina Statistics Links
Compiled by SciWay, "South Carolina's Information Highway"
State Health Facts
A project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, provides free, up-to-date, & easy-to-use health data for all 50 states on more than 700 health topics
Public School District Profiles
Compiled by the National Center for Education Statistics.
State Data Center Network
The State Data Center Program makes data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, & regional & local governments
Daily news, polls, public opinion on government, politics, economics, management. (Free)
Gallup Poll Briefing
Full text of poll results & analysis from the Gallup News Service, 5 items per week (Clemson subscription)
Harris Poll - News Page
Links to recent Harris Poll results and news articles.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Includes access to iPOLL, a database of U.S. survey information from 1935-present & RoperExpress, a data access tool for on-demand download of data (Clemson subscription)
Pew Research Center
Provides information on the issues, attitudes & trends shaping America & the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling & social science research; by analyzing news coverage; & by holding forums & briefings. (Free)