Research and Course Guides: Art & Art History: Find Articles

Key Art and Art History Resources

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields, in sources published 1984-present. limited to 4 simultaneous users
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields, from sources published 1929-1984. Access limited to one user at a time.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
All modern and contemporary arts, including photography, from the late 19th century to the present. Indexes journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews published 1974-present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
One of three major components of Web of Science--search arts & humanities journals published 1975-present by topic, author, or citation title.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, and cultural studies
Artstor Digital Library (Artstor is part of JSTOR; current platform will sunset on 8/1/24) This link opens in a new window
2 million+ images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, journalism, historical events, social history, and visual culture
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Art and architecture, art criticism, philosophical and social topics in art.

Bibliography of the History of Art
European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007. Includes the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA). Open access, hosted by The Getty Research Institute.

Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
All types of design and craft, from sources published 1973-present

Hathi Trust
a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 18+ million digitized items; many rare resources included. Full access requires login with Clemson credentials. About the Hathi Trust

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 and new records by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,300 core scholarly journals, including 178 art and art history titles.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to scholarly journals in a range of subject areas, including 30+ in art, architecture, theatre, dance, and performing arts. Use the search box at the upper right of the About Project Muse page.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Broad range of subject areas, from sources published 1965-present. Good starting point for general purposes.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Professional, scholarly, and popular journals in architecture, planning, interior design, landscape, and related fields. Citations, 1930s-present; abstracts, 1990s-present; selective coverage back to the 1860s.
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Global coverage, back to 1860s, with full text of most additions 1997-present (PDF). More than 70K added annually.
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
With one-click access to subscribed Clemson resources.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to articles from major world newspapers, magazines, newsletters, blogs, broadcast transcripts, and more. Excellent for researching contemporary artists, works, and exhibitions.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from major U.S. newspapers, 1980s-present. Newspapers can be good sources for art show reviews and artist obituaries. Some major city papers have dedicated Arts sections.