Research and Course Guides: Planning, Design & the Built Environment: Home

Art & Architecture Librarian/Director, Gunnin Architecture Library

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Lee Hall 2-112E

864-656-4289

Subjects: Architecture, Art & Art History, City & Regional Planning, City Planning & Real Estate Development, Construction Science & Management, Historic Preservation, Landscape Architecture, Planning, Design & the Built Environment, Real Estate Development, Urban Design

Key PDBE Resources

AATA Online This link opens in a new window
online version of Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts, including abstracts from collections at the Fogg Art Museum and the Freer Gallery of Art; indexes 150 journals and conference proceedings, monographs, reviews, and dissertations in the field of cultural heritage conservation published 1932-present
Art, Design, & Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
includes ARTbibliographies Modern, Design & Applied Arts Index, Arts & Humanities Database, and International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Artstor Digital Library (Artstor is part of JSTOR; current platform will sunset on 8/1/24) This link opens in a new window
Artstor provides more than 2.4 million images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, photojournalism, decorative arts, design, and visual culture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The gold standard index to professional, scholarly, and popular journals in architecture, planning, interior design, landscape, and related fields. Citations, 1930s-present; abstracts, 1990s-present; selective coverage back to the 1860s. Citations and abstracts only. Limiting to peer-reviewed results is not an option.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of 10,000+ environmental sciences serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
articles, news, reviews, product listings, and case studies related to green design and construction
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
more than 730 full-text journals in nursing and allied health; 1937-present
CumInCAD This link opens in a new window
CumInCAD is a Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures.
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
search for scholarly literature in all disciplines
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
full-text nursing and allied health information; 1975-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
more than 1,300 full-text scholarly journals
Access made possible with funding from the Class of '55 and Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowments
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare; mid-1960s-present
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
journals, dissertations, Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the Joanna Briggs Institute
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
formerly PAIS International; government and public administration, public and social policy, and international relations; 1915-present.
Access made possible with funding from the Dr. Joseph A. Shirley Library Endowment
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles, book chapters, and papers in the fields of sociology, anthropology, criminology, demography, educaton, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Many journals are full-text, as are 750 books and 7,000 conference papers. Covers 1895-present.
TRID This link opens in a new window
Online index of the Transportation Research Board and the National Transportation Library. Public access resource.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 51,600 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies
Case studies from 2013-present are now an open resource. Access to archived case studies requires individual ULI membership.

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent for topic searches across a range of subjects; especially useful for identifying articles that cite a seminal or 'benchmark' resource (use 'Cited Ref' search). Includes Science Citation Index (1965-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1975-present) Exclusively academic--does not cover magazines or professional design reviews literature.

Space/Place Planning & Research Tools

Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US. No limit on simultaneous users. Feedback appreciated!

Webinars, Tutorials, and QuickStart guide to get you mapping.

Powerful urban planning tool combining comprehensive land use data and thousands of environmental, social, and mobility datasets with data overlay capabilities.

[Access on a class-by-class basis, managed by individual instructor]

Planning, Design & the Built Environment: Home

Welcome!

Art & Architecture Librarian/Director, Gunnin Architecture Library

Key PDBE Resources

Space/Place Planning & Research Tools