Research and Course Guides: Voting and Elections: Find Information on Elections and Candidates

Find Newspapers

News (Gale: OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Find full-text articles from U.S., international, and some local newspapers such as the Columbia, SC State; dates vary by newspaper.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more than 860 full-text newspapers plus television and radio news transcripts. Access provided via Discus
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
news, business, law, and general reference
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
full-text articles from Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal (eastern edition), Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune; dates vary by newspaper
Access made possible with funding from the William J. Latimer Endowment
US Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
includes The Greenville News, sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
full-text of the Chicago Tribune; 1985-present
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
full-text of The Christian Science Monitor; 1988-present
Greenville News This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the Greenville News is provided from 1999 to present.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
full-text articles 1996-present
New York Times This link opens in a new window
full-text New York Times (late edition) articles 1980-present and New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine content since 1997
State, The (Columbia, S.C.) (Previously The State) This link opens in a new window
Search historical and current content from The State (Columbia, SC) Newspaper. Coverage begins in 1891 and runs through 1987 for the archival content and picks up again to include current content through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition.
This resource was funded by Sigma Alpha Zeta (SAZ).
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1996-present
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
full-text articles (Eastern edition); 1984-present

USA.gov
Find information about your local election office.
Ballotpedia
Read about election coverage by office.
South Carolina Election Commission
Find information on voting, elections, and news.
Vote411.org
Look up your personal ballot; sponsored by League of Women Voters Education Fund
Vote411.org in Spanish

Ballotpedia
Look up voting records and biographies of candidates, as well as information on issues.
Congress.gov
Online database of the United States Congress legislative information. Find information on legislation and any current senator or representative, as well as congressional procedures.
Election Central
Find information on candidates, election calendars, and debate schedules.
FiveThirtyEight
Named after the number of electors in the U.S. electoral college, this website provides statistics and information on politics and issues.
I Side With
Indicate your beliefs on a range of topics to see how they align with the platforms of candidates.
On the Issues
Provides information on candidates primarily via their websites.
RealClearPolitics
Features selected political news and op-eds from various news publications, as well as commentaries from its own contributors.

Vote411.org
If you input the address where you are registered to vote, you will see all of the elections (national, state, local, and ballot measures) that will be on your ballot.
All In to Vote
The ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge has also created a website to help college student voters. You can learn more about the different types of items on your ballot.