Research and Course Guides: Resilient Urban Design: Home

Customized research guidance......

Browse the tabs on this page to find books, articles, images, research help, and professional practice support. We're here to raise your game in all your design and history/theory pursuits. When your wheels start to spin or you're facing an important assignment, contact Ann Holderfield, Art & Architecture Librarian, or Ina Bootle (Library Specialist at the CDCL). Ina can work with you in person and Ann can meet with you virtually in Teams or Zoom.

New Books on Urban Design

Spatial practices : modes of action and engagement with the city by Melanie Dodd, ed.
ARCH & CDCL NA2765 .S615 2020
Seeing the City Digitally: Processing urban space and time
2022, e-book
Restorative Cities: Urban design for mental health and wellbeing by Jenny Roe
2021, e-book
Performance Metrics for Sustainable Cities by Albert & Pandey, eds.
2022, e-book
The Comprehensive Plan: Sustainable, resilient, and equitable communities for the 21st century by David Rouse
2022, e-book
The Caring City: Ethics of urban design by Juliet Davis
2022, e-book
A Radical Normal: Propositions for the architecture of the city by Vittorio Lampugnani
ISBN: 9783869227016
ARCH NA680 .L367 2021
Minding the City: Field notes on neuroscience and the poetics of sustainable public space by Fraker; Siostrom & Foteva
ARCH NA9031 .F73 2021

Library Research Tools

Ask A Librarian
Databases A-Z
FindIt - All Clemson & PASCAL collections
Advanced search--the best
Journal Title Search
For e-journals, select "Available Online" on the left
Interlibrary Loan - Login
Research Guides
Emery A. Gunnin Architecture Library

WorldCat This link opens in a new window

Clemson OPEN (formerly TigerPrints) This link opens in a new window
Clemson theses & dissertations. For terminal projects, select 'Student Works,' then 'Non-thesis final projects.' Requires Clemson VPN connection.

Clemson University Libraries

Quick Links: Best Resources for Urban Design

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
architecture and related fields; 1930s-present with some coverage back to the 1860s
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
includes titles covering art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theatre, and cultural studies

RIBA British Architectural Library Catalog
Citation index of journal articles in architecture, construction, design, landscape, and planning from 300 journals worldwide. Coverage: 1980s-present (selective earlier articles). Predominantly European. Includes books, manuscripts, drawings, and photos in BAL collections.
more...less...
Public access resource. Access reference images via the RIBApix link on righthand side of search results page.

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields; 1984-present
Limit: 4 simultaneous users
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
art, architecture, art history, graphic arts, photography, motion pictures, and related fields; 1929-1984
Limit: 1 user at a time
Artstor Digital Library (Artstor is part of JSTOR; current platform will sunset on 8/1/24) This link opens in a new window
Artstor provides more than 2.4 million images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, photojournalism, decorative arts, design, and visual culture.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Public-access resource hosted by the Getty Research Institute. Coverage up to 2007. For background and link to list of publications covered, visit http://www.getty.edu/research/conducting_research/bha/.
Building Types Online
Thematic essays on key aspects of a wide range of building types, including links to relevant case studies. Technical drawings for each building, reference photographs of exterior and interior, and high-quality vector-based plans available for download. User guide.

BuildingGreen Suite This link opens in a new window
articles, news, reviews, product listings, and case studies related to green design and construction
Design & Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
design and craft information; 1973-present
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
all aspects of human impact to the environment; dates vary by publication
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 and new records by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
more than 1,300 full-text scholarly journals
Access made possible with funding from the Class of '55 and Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowments
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
This resource offers an easy-to-use online mapping system with data on demographics, real estate, health, economics, and more in communities across the U.S.

Urban Land Institute Development Case Studies
Case studies from 2013-present are now an open resource. Access to archived case studies requires individual ULI membership.

Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
index to 200+ core academic and policy journals; 1973-present
UrbanFootprint This link opens in a new window
This is an urban planning tool with comprehensive land use data and thousands of environmental, social, and mobility datasets.

Access is on a class-by-class basis due to the nature of the resource. Please contact the City Planning subject librarian to establish access for your class.