Research and Course Guides: English: Historical periodicals

Historical periodicals

Accessible Archives via History Commons This link opens in a new window
accounts of American historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From colonies to nation (1690-1876) This link opens in a new window
published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society
Early American Newspapers: Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic: Early-to-Mid 19th Century This link opens in a new window
More than 290 historical American newspapers from every region of the country
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
searchable images from 500 newspaper titles of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. from the 19th century
Indigenous Newspapers of North America (previously American Indian Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1851-2005
Washington Post, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1877-1992
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspaper content for selected states from 1777 to 1963 with additional content added on a regular basis.
Wall Street Journal, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1889-1991

Historical News Articles (CU Libraries)
All historical (and current) news sources to which the CU Libraries have access

African American Newspapers - The 19th Century - Part 1 (part of Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
full text of Freedom's Journal, New York, 1827- Mar. 1829; Colored American, New York, 1837-Mar. 1840; The North Star, Rochester, NY, 1847-July 1849; National Era, Washington, DC, 1847-Dec. 1848
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
more than 350 U.S. newspapers from 35+ states, including rare 19th-century titles published for or by African Americans; see all titles

Chronicling America - African American newspapers
African American newspapers within the Library of Congress collection Chronicling America: Historical Newspapers

Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) This link opens in a new window
Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003) This link opens in a new window
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) This link opens in a new window
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991) This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) This link opens in a new window

Historical News Articles (CU Libraries)
All historical (and current) news sources to which the CU Libraries have access

British Periodicals Collection I & II This link opens in a new window
hundreds of searchable full-text periodicals from 1681-1939
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
more than 140 newspaper titles from 22 islands
British Library Newspapers, Parts 1-5 This link opens in a new window
2 million newspaper pages from national and regional newspapers in Great Britain; 1746-1950
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This includes the complete text of The Times of London from 1785-2019.
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from Africa, 1800-1925
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from Latin America and the Caribbean
Illustrated London News, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
world's first pictorial weekly newspaper; launched the world's first color supplement in 1855
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers 1864-1922 This link opens in a new window

Historical News Articles (CU Libraries)
All historical (and current) news sources to which the CU Libraries have access

Accessible Archives via History Commons This link opens in a new window
accounts of American historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, articles, and genealogical records
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
rare journals printed between c. 1685 and 1835
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
Accessible Archives via History Commons This link opens in a new window
accounts of American historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records
British Periodicals Collection I & II This link opens in a new window
hundreds of full-text periodicals from 1681-1939
19th Century Masterfile This link opens in a new window
index to American and English periodical articles; 1786-1922
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive, Part 2 This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of British magazines published in the 19th century.
Punch Historical Archive/1841-1992 This link opens in a new window
digital archive of the magazine, 1841-1992
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
browse or search for keywords or phrases in scanned pages of Harper's Weekly 1857-1912
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
colonial and modern statutes, state and federal cases, Congressional debates, and law review articles related to slavery
Liberty Magazine, 1924-50 Digital Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new window
U.S. weekly that "charted the moods, attitudes, lifestyles, fads, and fortunes of middle America"
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
Magazine that reproduced BBC programs; also previewed literary and musical shows and reviewed new books
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
millions of digitized publications from around the world, mainly from library, Google, and Internet Archive initiatives. To log in: click on the yellow LOG IN box on the right, select Clemson University from the drop-down menu, then Continue, and log in to the network