Research and Course Guides: English: Criticism

If the full text isn't online...

If you can't get to the full text of the article from the particular database, try pasting the title of the article into the Clemson Libraries search box.
If the article doesn't come up, go to our journal search page and type in the name of the journal/magazine the article is in.
If we don't have access to the journal, request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Criticism

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
literature, language, linguistics, rhetoric, composition, and folklore; 1926-present
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
English and American poetry, drama, and prose plus 240+ full-text literature journals, other criticism, and reference resources; contains the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Offers biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every era and discipline.
Literary Reference Source (previously Literary Reference Center) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
full-text information on authors and works from reference works, books, and literary journals
Bloom's Literature This link opens in a new window
essays on well-known writers, works, & influential movements and events in world literature plus bios, character entries, and videos

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
film and television theory, preservation & restoration, cinematography, and more; 1950s-present
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
index to articles, books, reviews, production information, dissertations, and more; 1968-present
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Subject sets currently include African American Studies, Biblical Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latino Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, and Philosophy
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
communication studies (including rhetoric), mass media, and journalism; coverage varies, some journals cover early 1900s-present
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
articles from journals, magazines, and some books in all areas of theatre and dance; dates vary by publication
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
research in education, including literature, composition, and languages, 1966-present
Iter This link opens in a new window
This is a gateway to Medieval and Renaissance resources and information.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Primary source content plus full text of significant journals, magazines, books, and regional newspapers and a thesaurus; dates vary by publication
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more than 600,000 journal articles and book citations; 1940-present

Project Muse
full-text access to more than 300 scholarly journals

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
full-text access to over 1,300 core scholarly journals
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Subject sets currently include African American Studies, Biblical Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latino Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, and Philosophy
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
articles, interviews, bibliographies, and obituaries; original works of fiction, drama, and poetry; and reviews of books, performances, motion pictures, and more; 1910-present
Humanities International Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
all areas of the humanities; 1925-present
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
index to important journals; 1907-1984
19th Century Masterfile This link opens in a new window
index to American and English periodical articles; 1786-1922
Essay and General Literature Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more than 224,000 essays from 8,700+ printed anthologies; 1985-present

Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
can do topic and cited reference searching; 1975-present
Note: Depending on topic, might want to add Social Sciences Citation Index [SSCI] to search; just click on down arrow next to Arts & Humanities Citation Index and check box by SCCI
Book Citation Index This link opens in a new window
science and social sciences & humanities content; 2005-present. Select Cited references form and enter author/title of work for which you want citations