Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your suggestions for more coverage in online foreign language dictionaries may be sent to librarian Ed Rock firstname.lastname@example.org
General Foreign Language & Bilingual Dictionaries Online
Reference Databases with Dictionaries
Free Dictionaries Online
large bilingual dictionaries in Chinese, French, German, Hindi, Korean, Japanese, Italian, Portuguese, & Spansh; comprehensive grammar section; includes English thesaurus
More Free Dictionaries Online/Translation
Computer generated, serviceable, but not perfect. Some eSpeak speech synthesizer included, click on embedded speaker icon beside translation.
Translates for you; enter or paste in text, then select language; 15+ languages
including Arabic, Chinese, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch, Hebrew, Turkish, and Polish.
Language Dictionaries & Translators from Word2Word
Includes links to: Language Chat Sites, Meet Up Language Groups, Machine Translation Software, many more.
Growing English-, French-, Spanish-, Italian- and Chinese- to-German dictionary. Mostly useful for German language proficient users. Includes browsable "Forums" and you can submit content.
dict.cc English-German Dictionary
Developed to help you share your knowledge with others. Includes some audio pronunciation. The site does state: "Disclaimer: The correctness of the translations can not be guaranteed…"
Business Spanish Dictionaries Online
Business French Dictionaries Online
Business German Dictionary Online