Research and Course Guides: Business & Economics: General Business Websites

South Carolina Resources

South Carolina Commerce Includes resources for locating a business in South Carolina, growing a business, and working within the South Carolina community. Also includes several searchable business-related databases, free PDF publications, maps, and export information.
South Carolina Division of Small and Minority Business Contracting and Certification Resources to promote the growth and development of small and minority-owned businesses in South Carolina.
South Carolina Statistical Abstract Contains economic, demographic, and social data.
South Carolina Business Directory

CorpWatch Designed to investigate and expose corporate violations of human rights, environmental crimes, fraud and corruption around the world.
CSRwire Promotes the growth of corporate responsibility and sustainability through solutions-based information and positive examples of corporate practices. It includes events, resources, reports, and news alerts.

BEOnline Plus A listing of business internet resource subject guides.
Center for Research in Electronic Commerce Serves as an incubator for breakthrough research blending business and computer science.
globalEDGE Web-portal that connects international business professionals to information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. The site includes Global Resources, Country Insights, News & Views, Academy, and Diagnostic Tools.

SuperPages.com Search the yellow pages
ThomasNet Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, distributors and service providers - from Actuators to Zirconium and everything in between. Locate manufacturers by name or product.

AnnualReports.com Free annual reports. Reports can be found alphabetically, by company name, by ticker symbol, by sector, or by industry.
Annual Reports Service Annual reports and other information on select companies. The reports are free, but a form must be completed to download the reports.
PRARS (Public Register's Annual Report Service) Annual reports can be requested and sent by mail for free.
SEC EDGAR Search Tools Full-text searchable index to the filings by corporations to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) that are available to the public. Non-electronic filings, filings that are not available to the public, and any data prior to 1994 will not be available here.

Advertising Age Premier marketing magazine that provides daily news.
BBC News
Bloomberg.com Provides free market data, news and commentary, and charts and analysis for United States and international companies
CNN Money.com

Doing Business Allows interaction with the World Bank's Doing Business database. The database was created to identify the regulations and regulatory costs of business in 155 economies. The site includes country data profiles & reports, trading procedures, business environment reports and economy comparison.
HBS Working Knowledge A forum for innovation in business practice, offering readers a first look at cutting-edge thinking and the opportunity to both influence and use these concepts before they enter mainstream management practice.
InvestorFactSheets.com Free investor fact sheets.
SCORE A source for free and confidential business advice for entrepreneurs.
Small Business