Open Educational Resources: English

Traditional textbook made available to the public by the publisher under a Creative Commons license.

Creative Commons licensed work.

An OER textbook on English writing and grammar.

Guide for teaching poetry writing.

Textbooks on English Literature, Rhetoric, and Writing.

Creative Commons Licensed textbook.

An interactive, multimedia text that introduces students to reading and writing at the college level.

Creative Commons licensed.

A free, comprehensive, peer-reviewed, award-winning Open Text for students and faculty in college-level courses that require writing and research.

Open English textbook from the Saylor Foundation.

provides instruction in steps, builds writing, reading, and critical thinking, and combines comprehensive grammar review with an introduction to paragraph writing and composition.

Designed for students who have largely mastered high-school level conventions of formal academic writing and are now moving beyond the five-paragraph essay to more advanced engagement with text. It is well suited to composition courses or first-year seminars and valuable as a supplemental or recommended text in other writing-intensive classes.

A book series containing peer-reviewed collections of essays--all composed by teachers for students.

An anthology of works from the Victorian era and the early 20th century.

Textbook on teaching Middle English literature.

Work designed for instructors, with tips on teaching the works of authors such as Pope, Dickens, Jane Austin etc. to students.

Textbook on teaching works from the ancient near east, Greece, Rome, India and China, with sections from major works during this era.

Offers students of technical writing an introduction to the processes and products involved in professional, workplace, and technical writing. The text is broken up into sections reflecting key components of researching, developing, and producing a technical report. Readers will also learn about other professional communication, designing documents, and creating and integrating graphics.

This textbook focuses on developing both technical and professional communication skills and will help readers practice strategies for critically analyzing audiences and contexts, real-world applications of rhetorical principles, and skills for producing documents (reports, proposals, instructions), presentations, videos, and wide variety of other professional communications.

Good writing skills are important in today’s competitive work environment. This is especially the case for communication-related professions such as public relations, brand communication, journalism, and marketing. Writing for Strategic Communication Industries emphasizes practical application of academic inquiry to help readers improve their writing skills.

Survey of American literature from the 17th to the 19th centuries.

20th century literature.

Curated collection of openly licensed primary texts, organized thematically, designed to be used as a reader in English composition courses. Includes personal essays, literature, video and audio files, Web writings, and long-form journalism, along with customizable assignments and instructor resources.

How did English become the global force it is today? This free course, English in the world today, explores the status of the language and its worldwide diversity.

This resource is useful for instructors whose courses cover introductory communication skills, workplace communication, technical communication or business writing. It contains four modules, each with its own lesson plans, assessments, and supporting materials. This is module 3 of 4, in which students will learn the art and science of putting together an impressive presentation. Topics include presentation styles, developing a presentation strategy, presentation aids, and communicating with a live audience.

Course on American literature from the 1830s to 1860s.

MIT collection.

A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

From Columbus State University.

George Mason University compilation of the full works of Shakespeare.

56,000 books in the public domain, available online. Includes large collection on English language literature.

A free online library, Read Print puts thousands of online books, plays, short stories etc. at your fingertips.