Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
K-12 Educational Materials: Repositories
The U.S. Office of Educational Technology initiative for districts to replace textbooks with openly licensed digital materials. Contains instructional materials for many subjects.
OER instructional materials repository for K-12 educators in Michigan.
Amazon's K-12 OER instructional materials repository.
Bookworms: A Comprehensive K-5 Literacy Program
This free ELA curriculum uses children's books. Many of these books are available in the EMU LIbrary Children's Literature Collection.
Repository of a non-profit organization that produces and aggregates OER STEM content for K-12 teaching.
The Concord Consortium
Interactive resources for Biology, Chemistry, Earth & Space Science, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics.
K-12 resources for English Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, and Spanish. Resources are aligned with standards and can also be browsed by standard. You have to sign-up and create a login to use the site, but there is no cost to you. This collection of free resources is supported by the software company SAS.
A repository of course materials and professional development resources on many subjects created by K-12 instructors.
EngageNY Common Core Library
K-12 curriculum resources on many subjects developed by the State of New York.
Free Online K-12 Resource library organized by grade, subject, and media. Includes over 7,000 educational videos.
A "problem-based core program" currently offered for grades 6-8. Resources are free and include support for ELLs and students with disabilities. This nonprofit project was lead by one of the writers of the mathematics common core standards, and it received a near perfect score in a curriculum evaluation by the nonprofit EdReports.
You need to create a free account to view the curriculum:
1. Under View teacher materials for: choose the Grade Level.
2. If you already work as a teacher for a school, you can choose School--otherwise choose Other (and on the next page explain that you are a pre-service teacher). Pre-service teachers won't be able to get the assessments, but can access the rest of the curriculum for free.
Mathematics Vision Project
An organization that creates free training and professional development materials for K-12 educators.
Minnesota OER Commons
A part of OER Commons, this repository allows Minnesota K-12 educators to share instructional materials.
MIT CourseWare Highlights for High School
Repository of instructional materials for high school teachers, administrators and home school parents designed by MIT researchers.
The National Science Digital Library
Online learning resources and organizations dedicated to the enhancement of STEM education.
North Carolina Learning Object Repository
Vast repository of OER instructional materials deposited by North Carolina K-12 educators.
The Orange Grove
A state funded OER repository from Florida that contains textbooks, lesson plans and other OER materials on various K-12 subjects.
Lesson plans, activity sheets and curriculum resources created by federal museums.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
Rich digital materials—more than a million images, recordings, and texts.
Based on the EngageNY curriculum, UnboundEd provides free, standards-aligned PreK-Grade 12 resources in English Language Arts and Mathematics. These are enhanced by free professional learning resources, including teaching guides, videos and podcasts.
All Science Fair Projects
More than 1,000 free ideas for science fair projects.
Lesson plans and online resources for K-12.
K-12 Educational Materials: Textbook Repositories
Michigan Open Book Project
A project to bring free open textbooks to Michigan K-12 students. At this site you can learn about the project, about using open texts, and you can download the currently available free social studies texts, which include:
Michigan Studies (3rd grade)
United States Studies (4th grade)
United States History (5th grade)
World Geography (6th grade)
Ancient World History (7th grade)
United States History (8th grade)
United States History (high school)
Economics and You (high school)
Online Waldorf Library
E-books for use in classrooms.
textbooks that are free to download and available for purchase in inexpensive print form. Texts include: Statistics, Statistics with Randomization and Simulation, Advanced High School Statistics. Website also contains free teaching tools such as labs, videos, and datasets.
OpenStax Textbooks for AP Courses
Textbooks for Physics, Macroeconomics and Biology.
Free online science textbooks for grades 4-12 and math textbooks for grades 10-12. The interactive practice part of this site is subscription based.
Utah's Open Textbook Project
Includes grades 3-12 Science, grades 6-12 English Language Arts, grades 7-12 Mathematics. Aligned to Utah state standards.
K-12 Educational Materials: Videos
PBS Learning Media
Resources from the Public Broadcasting System can be searched by subject and grade level. You can also browse by numerous national standards to find resources related to a standard.
K-12 Educational Materials: Online Courses
Educational Studies: Textbooks
Educational Studies: Open Courses
Early Education and Care: Core Competencies
An online course from the University of Massachusetts designed to provide early childhood education professionals with the knowledge and skills to assess their own level in terms of the eight core competencies, across the infant-toddler, preschool and out-of-school age range.
Education & Teacher Training Courses - edX
Online education courses covering a broad range of topics from educational policy and history to curriculum design and teaching techniques.
First Year Teacher Program
9 modules on effective teaching strategies and techniques in the classroom. Covers subjects such as phonemic awareness, phonics, speech sounds, and text comprehension.
Future Learn - Education
Free online courses on education from universities across the world.
Future Learn - Teaching Courses
Free online courses that support teachers' professional learning and development.
The Learning Classroom: Theory into Practice
Annenberg Foundation produced free online course developed for students preparing to be teachers, as well as inservice K-12 classroom teachers and other educators.
Courses on education and development such as "Looking globally: the future of education", "Facilitating group discussions", "Play, learning and the brain", "Enhancing pupil learning on museum visits", and "Using visualisation in maths teaching."
UC Irvine Open Courses
Has three courses: Education 151: Language and Literacy (English); Education 173: Cognition & Learning in Educational Settings (English); Education 320: Teaching PE & Health, Elementary Education (English).
Educational Studies: Repositories
Education research database of the Institute of Education Sciences; 1966-present.
Educational Studies: OER Videos
Special Needs Education
Learning Disabilities Online
Features an Educators section, which provides instructional strategies, information, and solutions for teaching issues.
The National Education Association
Provides special education news and guides on common issues found in the special education school system. Some of the guides include:
Truth in Labeling: Disproportionality in Special Education
The Puzzle of Autism
Twice Exceptional Dilemma
IDEA and NCLB: Intersection of Access and Outcomes
The National Association of Special Education Teachers
Provides news and information on special education teaching methodology.
The National Center for Learning Disabilities
Contains videos and articles with valuable information and strategies to help you effectively teach your students. You can also read tips on assistive technology, improving parent-teacher relationships, and using the Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 504 Plan.
Offers free curriculum strategies and classroom management techniques to teach students with special needs effectively.
Has thousands of activity pages that will help students improve on social skills, behavior, and academics. The website provides many student activities, including songs, games, seasonal arts, crafts and more. Experts in the field of special education design the information and materials provided on Do2Learn. The strategies are specially designed for students with special needs, especially those with Autism Spectrum Disorder, Attention Deficit Disorder, and other disabilities that affect learning, social skills, communication and self-regulation.