Research and Course Guides: Materials Science & Engineering: Articles

Key Materials Science & Engineering Article Databases

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
The newest version of SciFinder! Produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive discovery tool of chemical information, searchable by topic, author, substances (by name or CAS Registry Number), chemical structures, and reactions.

NOTE: If you’re completely new to searching SciFinder at Clemson, you’ll first need to create an account; for the registration link and more information, go to http://clemson.libguides.com/SciFinder.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Use the “Create account” option to manage your search results.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
includes Web of Science Core Collection, Biosis (Citation Index & Previews), Current Contents, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journals, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record
Engineering Village (Compendex, GeoRef, INSPEC & Knovel) This link opens in a new window
This platform provides access to content in engineering and related fields from 1884-present.

Access made possible with funding from the Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowment with 1884-1969 backfile access courtesy of the Class of '55
Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. Coverage: 1965-Present

Additional Article Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
search IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards, 1950-present (access full-text documents of many IEEE publications, 1988-present)
Textile Technology Index This link opens in a new window
abstracting for 490+ periodicals; 1900-present
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
human and veterinary medicine and healthcare; mid-1960s-present
Polymer Library This link opens in a new window
plastics, rubber, adhesives, and polymeric composites; 1972-present

Get the Full-Text

If the full-text is not available in the database you're searching, click on Article Linker (in Web of Science), Other sources (in SciFinder), or Search for articles.

You can often find the article electronically from another source, or in print.

If the article is not available at Clemson, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan. It's free!

Scan and Deliver

Articles and book chapters available at Clemson in print only can be scanned and emailed to faculty, staff, and students, within 2 business days (articles >75 pages will take longer).

See Scan and Deliver for information on how to submit requests.