Research and Course Guides: NURS 1400: Fostering Innovation in Healthcare: Managing Citations

RefWorks

a free bibliography service for all Clemson students, faculty, and staff

There are currently two fully-functional versions of RefWorks available. Please use the information below to select the version you are working with and proceed to login and additional information.

First-Time RefWorks Users

We recommend you start with the latest version of RefWorks. It will officially replace the version below sometime in 2018.

Legacy RefWorks

This is the older version that seasoned Clemson researchers are likely familiar with. It is still completely functional and is entirely separate from New RefWorks.

Citation Styles and Support

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition (2020)
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. It is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields.

APA References Guide
Guidelines for identifying each work cited in the text.
APA In-Text Citations Guide
Guidelines for acknowledging how others contributed to your work.
Purdue OWL Formatting & Style Guide, APA
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab guide to APA Style

MLA Handbook, 9th Edition (2021)
The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements.

MLA Citations by Format
Guidelines for identifying each work cited in the text.
MLA Works Cited: A Quick Guide
Core Elements, Containers, and a Practice Template using MLA Style.
Purdue OWL Formatting & Style Guide, MLA
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab guide to MLA Style

American Medical Association Style Guide
ISBN: 0190246588
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age.

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
ISBN: 022628705X
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Chicago-style source citation guide for both bibliography and author-date.
Purdue OWL Formatting & Style Guide, Chicago
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab guide to the Chicago Manual of Style

AAA (American Anthropological Association) Style Guide
As of September 2015, AAA style (for all publications) follows the Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, particularly in regard to reference citations, summarized here.
ACS (American Chemical Society) Style Guide
Guidelines for identifying each work cited in the text.
APSA (American Political Science Association) Style Manual
APSA's guide on turning a source into an appropriate reference.
AP Stylebook Online
searchable style book content plus online-only exclusives like Capital IQ business profiles and a pronunciation guide.
Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
American Sociological Association style guide
Official ASA style guide available at the Clemson Libraries Service Desk.
Turabian Style Guide
Source citations in the Turabian manual come in two varieties: (1) notes and bibliography (or simply notes) and (2) author-date. These two systems are also sometimes referred to as Chicago-style citations, because they are the same as the ones presented in The Chicago Manual of Style.

The ACS guide to scholarly communication
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.

CAS Source Index (CASSI)
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool is an online resource intended to support researchers and librarians who need accurate bibliographic information.
MLA Interactive Practice Template
The template is a tool for teaching and learning MLA style, not a citation generator. To verify that your entry is correct, consult the MLA Handbook.

Air and Light and Time and Space (2017)
An essential new guide for writers aspiring to become more productive and take greater pleasure in their craft.
Seductive Academic Writing (2018)
This volume teaches academics and graduate students how to write seductive academic prose by learning a literacy rarely taught in academic writing or style handbooks: to use literary devices and figures of speech to meet ideals of stylish communication; and how these ideals and supposed 'literary' techniques serve academic readers and writers.
Tips and Tricks for Analyzing Text and Citing Evidence (2014)
The Common Core standards were created to help readers get the most out of every book. Training students to understand how to read critically is highly important and will help prepare them for college and career. This engaging volume asks readers to look closely at individual passages of text, analyze their meaning, and look at the evidence that supports their meaning.

Other Citation Management Options

While these citation management options are not officially supported by Clemson Libraries, they are an alternative to RefWorks at no/low cost. If you have any questions, please contact your Subject Librarian.

NURS 1400: Fostering Innovation in Healthcare: Managing Citations