Research and Course Guides: NURS 1400: Fostering Innovation in Healthcare: Global Resources

Global Health Resources

Databases
Journals

SciELO Citation Index
search open-access science and humanities journals from Latin America, Portugal, Spain, and South Africa; 1997-present. Also available at https://scielo.org/

WHO Global Index Medicus
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Eldis
Eldis supports free and open access to useful and relevant research on global development challenges.
EthnoMed
EthnoMed aims to be a convenient source for social and cultural details relevant to clinical care.
JAMA Global Health Collection
Collection of global health research from the Journal of American Medical Association
LILACS (Latin American & Caribbean Literature on the Health Sciences)
More than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books, published since 1982. It includes systematic reviews, randomized controlled clinical trials, evidence synthesis, health technology evaluation studies, economic evaluation studies, clinical practice guidelines, technical reports, case reports and others.

PAIS Index
formerly PAIS International; government and public administration, public and social policy, and international relations; 1915-present.
Access made possible with funding from the Dr. Joseph A. Shirley Library Endowment

Global Health and Human Rights Database
The Global Health and Human Rights Database is a free online database of law from around the world relating to health and human rights.

The Lancet Global Health
"Research, commentary, correspondence, and blogs on the following subjects as they pertain to low- and middle-income countries: reproductive, maternal, neonatal, and child health; adolescent health; infectious diseases, including neglected tropical diseases; non-communicable diseases; the global health workforce; health systems; and health policy."
Journal of Global Health
Journal of Global Health (JoGH) is a peer-review general medical journal focusing on issues relevant for global health. The mission of the journal is to serve the community of researchers, funding agencies, international organizations, policy-makers and other stakeholders by providing an independent critical assessment of the key issues that dominated the global health community.
Global Health Action
Global Health and Medicine
Global Health & Medicine is dedicated to publishing high-quality original research that contributes to advancing global health and medicine, with the goal of creating a global information network for global health, basic science as well as clinical science oriented for clinical application.
Global Health: Science and Practice
Global Health: Science and Practice (GHSP) is a no-fee, open access, peer-reviewed online journal aimed to improve health practice, especially in low- and middle-income countries.
International Health
An Open Access journal that covers research relating to health issues for first nations and indigenous peoples, humanitarian health issues, and diverse research from all geographic locations and authors.
Journal of Epidemiology and Global Health
The Journal of Epidemiology and Global Health is an international peer reviewed journal which aims to impact global epidemiology and international health with articles focused on innovative scholarship and strategies to advance global health policy.
International Journal of Emergency Medicine
The International Journal of Emergency Medicine is a high-quality Open Access journal which aims to bring to light the various clinical advancements and research developments attained over the world, thus helping the specialty forge ahead.

Cultural, Ethnic & Religious Factors Impacting Health

Cultural, Ethnic & Religious Factors Impacting Health
by Sally Smith Last Updated Mar 25, 2025 444 views this year