Skip to Main Content

Research & Publication Metrics: College of Education

A resource guide for faculty in the College of Education at Clemson University; includes steps for creating a digital identity, finding and evaluating publications, and measuring research impact.

Finding Impact

Journal Impact

Publication Information & Data

Finding quality scholarly publications can be a challenging and time-consuming task. Fortunately, Clemson Libraries offer a wealth of resources to help you navigate the world of academic publishing. 

Not all resources will be appropriate for every researcher. These sources vary in their coverage of each discipline. Differences in individual metrics between resources are almost certain due to how each source chooses to include or exclude source materials.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

"The world's leading journals and publisher-neutral data." JCR provides citation data for evaluating the impact and use of scholarly journals in the sciences and social sciences.

To find journals in educational research, use the Categories tab in the top menu. 

Select "Social Sciences, General."

Categories include: 

  • Education & Educational Research
  • Education, Scientific Disciplines
  • Education, Special

For each category, select SSCI Edition.

Scopus

A multidisciplinary searchable database, Scopus offers rich author metrics as well as a journal tool to measure the scope and reach of research called CiteScore

Learn more about Scopus journal, article, and author metrics.

Scopus covers more than 29,000 journals with approximately 1,800 Education resources included. From the initial search page, select the "Sources" menu and enter "Education"

 

Cabell's Scholarly Analytics 

Cabell's is the complete source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size. This resource includes lists of journals with publication guidelines, review information, and addresses for submission across multiple disciplines from accounting to psychology. Real impact starts with finding the right audience.

Search for journalytics in many disciplines, including:

  • Educational Curriculum & Methods
  • Educational Psychology & Administration
  • Educational Technology & Library Science

Ulrichsweb Global Serials Directory

Ulrichsweb is an excellent resource to identify academic journals, magazines, and other serial publications. Can also learn about the quality of a publication, where to submit an article, or where a journal is indexed.   

To find education journals start with an Advanced Search and limit your results by categories such as:

  • Active (currently being published)
  • Refereed/Peer-reviewed
  • Language of text
  • Education Subject Area
  • Academic / Scholarly Content Type
  • Country of Publication

Evaluating Publications

Before you Submit

By evaluating academic publications, you as a faculty member can ensure that your research is reaching the right audience and contributing to the advancement of your field. Proper evaluation can help to identify the most suitable journals for your work, increase the visibility and impact of your research, and establish a strong publication record that can enhance your career prospects.

ACRL's Scholarly Communication Toolkit: Evaluating Journals

Changing publishing models, including the rise of open-access journals, have reshaped how scholars share and use journal articles. The author-pays model of some open-access publications did not give rise to predatory or vanity publishing as is often claimed, nor are such problems exclusive to open-access publishing. Even traditional subscription journals should be carefully analyzed for quality. Librarians should be aware of the various quality indicators and tools available to their constituents to evaluate potential publication places.

Predatory Journals and Publishers 

Predatory publishing is a growing concern in scholarly research. These publications deceive authors by publishing their papers for a fee without doing the peer review and other editorial services provided by legitimate publishers. While publications in the sciences and biomedicine are most heavily impacted by this exploitative business model, predatory publications exist in every academic discipline.

This research guide was created by Clemson Libraries librarians for faculty at Clemson University seeking to publish in academic journals.

Cabell's Predatory Reports 

Cabell's Predatory Reports is a database of academic journals that are considered predatory or deceptive by Cabell's International, a publishing services company that provides information and resources to researchers, publishers, and librarians. It includes a list of journals that have been identified as predatory based on a set of criteria, including misleading publishing practices, false claims of indexing or impact factor, and lack of transparency or editorial policies. The database is updated regularly and provides detailed information on each journal, including its publisher, country of origin, article processing charges, and other relevant information.