Education Journals - Practitioner Focused Titles

The Clemson University Libraries are pleased to be able to offer access to a large number of journals in a wide variety of subject areas.  The journals listed below have been identified to have a larger number of articles directed to an education practitioner audience.  That is, an audience working in the field needing practical and tested ideas in a day-to-day setting.  

Not every article database (such as ERIC) will cover every issue of every journal.  Indeed, many journals are not covered at all.  Sometimes this is because the audience is limited or, in other cases, the economics of the journal simply cannot support the costs associated with indexing.

Many of the titles are products of national associations oriented to the support of teachers in certain subjects.  Frequently, access to the journal content is a benefit of membership.

A search of all the listed journals can be made at this link.  

The journals will be listed in the first search box - do not disturb these!  Instead add search terms unique to you to the second and third boxes to form your search.

In general, practitioner focused titles are searchable in our primary education databases.  More information on article databases is found on the primary Education Resource Guide. General searches will benefit from the addition of terms such as:

• teacher innovations
• classroom innovations
• classroom success
• what works

Limiting these terms to appear in the title field will also help.

Social Emotional Learning (sample search in ERIC, Education Full Text, & Education Research Complete) [more than 4,000 results]

Social Emotional Learning AND what works  [less than two dozen results]

Be alert for article titles that appear to be a perfect match to your subject but then point to a foreign location. "Exactly what I need - Sweden" or "My perfect article - Taiwan."  Generally, an increase in distance (including language, culture, or educational system) from the United States will decrease the utility to your final project.

When searching by titles (examples below) note that a search for "Science Teacher" can recall "New Zealand Science Teacher" and "History and Social Science Teacher" as well. Left sidebar facets can be used to limit results.

The following list is courtesy of Dr. Daphne Duncan Wiles from their work with ED 8600 and ED 8990.  Please email Gordon Cochrane ( gmcochr@clemson.edu ), Education Librarian with additional title suggestions.

Notes:

1. Web content "Select": Selected articles in any given issue are free to access. Free articles do not change over time.  Most content only available to organization members.
2. Electronic Access "Not available to search in subscription databases": Clemson University subscribes to databases (such as ERIC and others).  This title is not indexed by any database to which we subscribe.
3. Web content "Limited": Web visitors may access a number of articles without being a member.  The number of free articles varies by publisher.
4. Web content "Subscription": The publisher stores their archived content on a service to which Clemson subscribes.  On the campus ethernet network articles are available to access.  Campus WiFi and off-campus patrons must use the VPN or access via the Libraries Catalog.