Research and Course Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Reference/Handbooks

Selected Handbooks/Data Collections

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Contains most frequently used data in Chemistry and Physics, including basic constants, units, and conversion factors.

NIST Physical Reference Data (Physical Measurement Laboratory)
Collection of data sets provided by NIST. Includes the periodic table with atomic properties of the elements, physical constants, atomic spectroscopy data, molecular spectroscopic data, atomic and molecular data, x-ray and gamma-ray data, radiation dosimetry data, nuclear physics data, condensed matter physics data, and more.
HEPData
Repository for publication-related High-Energy Physics data

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry, and Technology This link opens in a new window
Critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Features physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.
SpringerMaterials This link opens in a new window
Provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields. Includes the Landolt-Börnstein collection.

CODATA Fundamental Physical Constants
NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty, one of the technical activities of the Fundamental Constants Data Center of the NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory.

Knovel Critical Tables This link opens in a new window
2nd Edition; includes interactive tables such as Heat Capacity and Thermal Conductivity, Reaction Thermodynamics and Equilibrium Constants, Density and Compressibility, Vaporization and Vapor Pressure, Thermal Expansion, Transport and Flow, and Electrical Properties data.

Springer Handbook of Lasers and Optics
Comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the wide fields of optics and lasers.
Springer Handbook of Acoustics
Reference and guide for researchers and students in every branch of acoustics.

Smithsonian Physical Tables This link opens in a new window
Comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics.