Research and Course Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Find Articles

Journal Title Abbreviations

Need to find the full journal title from an abbreviation, or vice-versa? Try these resources:

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool: Includes journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by Chemical Abstracts Service since 1907, including serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications.

Web of Science All Databases: WITHIN Web of Science, click on the "Cited Reference Search" option, then "View abbreviation list"

PubMed Journal List: Includes full journal titles and abbreviations for all MEDLINE® titles as well as other non-MEDLINE titles in PubMed.

Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations: Created by Kevin Lindstrom, University of British Columbia

Engineering Village (Compendex, GeoRef, INSPEC & Knovel) This link opens in a new window
Engineering and related fields, 1884-present. Includes the databases Compendex and Inspec, and also searches Knovel.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Data Citation Index (1900-present), Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), BIOSIS Citation Index (1926-present), Derwent Innovations Index (1963-present), MEDLINE® (1950-present), and more.
arXiv.org e-Print archive This link opens in a new window
Started in August 1991, arXiv.org is an electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

ADS Astrophysical Data System
Indexes major astronomy and astrophysics journals. The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.

Scitation This link opens in a new window
Covers research in the Physical Sciences from the American Institute of Physics (AIP)

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
Reviews, abstracts, and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Provides author and journal citation tracking. Coverage: 1864-present
Materials Science & Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
Includes the renowned METADEX, Copper and Polymer Library databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings and government publications. Coverage: 1965-Present

INIS ( International Nuclear Information System) Repository
One of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. From the International Atomic Energy Agency.

INSPIRE: High-Energy Physical Literature Database This link opens in a new window
The High Energy Physics information system. INSPIRE is run by a collaboration of CERN, DESY, Fermilab, IHEP, and SLAC.
CERN Document Server This link opens in a new window
Articles, reports and multimedia content in High Energy Physics.
Polymer Library This link opens in a new window
Polymer Library (formerly Rapra Abstracts) is the world’s largest database dedicated to plastics, rubber, polymeric composites and adhesives. Subject coverage includes science, technology and polymers. The database, updated twice monthly, contains nearly a million records dating from 1972 to the present. Polymer Library content, provided by more than 500 publishers, originates from a wide range of sources such as technical and industry-focused journals, peer reviewed journals, conference proceedings, books and reports.
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to access Clemson materials off-campus. On campus, go to Scholar Preferences and select 'Clemson University - Full-text @ Clemson' in Library Links.