Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Broad Coverage in Books
Dictionary of Battles and Sieges: A Guide to 8,500 Battles from Antiquity through the 21st Century
Call Number: D25 .J33 2007
Smithsonian Military History
Call Number: Oversize 2nd Floor D25 .M47 2012
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Reference to Casualty & Other Figures, 1500-2000
Call Number: D214 .C54 2002
Reader's Guide to Military History
Call Number: D25 .R35 2001
Search for Articles
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
Covers the history & culture of the United States & Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of thousands of academic journals in history & many other disciplines.
Battles, Maps & Service Histories
West Point Digital Atlases
The United States Military Academy's Department of History has produced over six campaign atlases & more than one thousand maps, encompassing not only America’s wars but global conflicts as well.
Military History Maps
From the University of Texas at Austin, the Perry-Castaneda Library's online map collection features Historical Maps of the United States with a Military History section of battlefield maps from the American Revolution through the Vietnam War.
Military History Encyclopedia on the Web
This site consists of 4,569 articles, 1,819 pictures, 378 maps, 651 unit histories, 710 book reviews & over 3,174,200 words in original articles.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
The Center Of Military History (CMH) is responsible for recording the official history of the Army in both peace & war, while advising the Army Staff on historical matters.
U.S. Army Heritage & Education Center
This site includes an extensive digital archive.
U.S. Air Force: Heritage
The various subsections provide an overview of the Air Force's heritage, important people, airpower, images, milestones & art.
Naval History & Heritage Command
Extensive online collections are available via the "Resources/Research" tab, including ship histories, naval aircraft descriptions, Biographies in Naval History, Naval & maritime history photographs, & more.
Marine Corps History & Heritage
An overview of USMC history is provided via a timeline back to the 1770s, a defining moments feature, as well as details on symbols & traditions.
Annual assessment of global military capabilities & defence economics.
SIPRI Military Expenditure Database
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute military expenditure data provides an easily identifiable measure of the scale of resources absorbed by military activities of states around the world. Data are entirely based on open sources, & as much as possible on official data.
Medal of Honor Statistics
Source for totals is the U.S. Congressional Medal of Honor Society, under the aegis of the U.S. Army Center of Military History. Full text of the citations to individuals, arranged by conflict & then alphabetically by name, is available elsewhere on this site.
Defense Casualty Analysis System
Select the "Summary Data" tab to see tables of casualties, including those for major conflicts involving the United States since 1775, as well as more detailed statistics on "Active Duty Military Deaths: 1980-2010."