Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1030: Composition & Rhetoric

This guide will help students enrolled in ENGL 1030 find resources to complete the major assignments

ENGL1030 Introduction to Special Collections and Archives!

Archival Help All Semester: Instruction, Research Help and When to Use it!

Resource Instructional Workflow When to Use It
What is an Archive & How to Use it
  • Upon completing this 20-minute Canvas module, students will be able to:
    • Describe what an Archive is and basic terminology used in archives
    • How to begin a search for archival materials at Special Collections
    • Follow links to particular digitized archival sources
  • Read directions on how to upload a Canvas module into your Canvas course.
Prior to the "Landmark" Assignment

Primary Sources & How to Analyze Them

  • Upon completing this 30-minute Canvas module, students will be able to:
    • Describe what a primary source is
    • Practice analyzing a primary source
    • Do a basic historical analysis of any primary source
    • Use worksheets to assist them in their analysis
    • Read directions on how to upload a Canvas module into your Canvas course.
Prior to the "Landmark" Assignment
Using Tiger Prints for Special Collections & Archives Materials Students will use this digital archive to find digitized items from a wide range of materials: The Tiger Newspaper, Taps yearbook, the Board of Trustees minutes & more Prior to the "Landmark" Assignment

Visiting the Archives

Students should feel free to come to the archives at any time during regular hours (9am to 12noon and 1pm to 4pm M-F). No appointment is needed, though we recommend the student contacts us in advance if you want us to have pulled materials waiting for your use!

Strom Thurmond Institute Building
230 Kappa Street
Clemson, SC 29634-3001
864-656-3031

Prior to the "Mapping the Controversy" Assignment
Using the Special Collections Catalogue Search Engine

https://libraries.clemson.edu/specialcollections/

Students may search all of the collections held by the Special Collections and Archives through this link.

Prior to the "Landmark" Assignment
How to Cite Archival Materials
  • Upon completing this 10-minute Canvas module, students will be able to:
    • Describe the basic format for citing primary sources (archival materials)
    • Correctly cite digitized, as well as physical materials from Special Collections and Archives
    • Read directions on how to upload a Canvas module into your Canvas course.
Prior to any assignment