Research and Course Guides: Global History of Slavery: More databases

Online Newspaper Archives

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
searchable images from 500 newspaper titles of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. from the 19th century

London Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985

New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1851-2005
Wall Street Journal, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1889-1991
Washington Post, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1877-1992

Historical Statistics

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
current and historical census and demographic data
Limit: 1 user at a time

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Compiled since 1878, a comprehensive yearly handbook & data guide. Our collection at Fed Docs C 3.134: includes 1891-1926, 1928-2001, 2003-2011
U.S. Census Bureau

Notable Free Internet Sources for Primary Documents

National archives, libraries, agencies & many other organizations publish primary source documents, images, sound & video files, etc.:

AmDocs This link opens in a new window
documents for the study of American history, arranged chronologically
American Memory This link opens in a new window
browse or search Library of Congress' vast collection of digitized materials
Documenting the American South This link opens in a new window
texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture

Making of America This link opens in a new window
collection of 19th-century American books and journals

Periodical Archives & More

American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
fully searchable copies of The Economist from 1843-2006
HarpWeek This link opens in a new window
browse or search for keywords or phrases in scanned pages of Harper's Weekly 1857-1912

Historical Maps

Sanborn Maps, 1876-1970 This link opens in a new window
maps that chart the growth and development of South Carolina towns and cities; previously listed as Digital Sanborn Maps

Primary Government Sources Online

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
full-text legal resources including articles, classic books, law codes, court decisions, treaties, and more
Congressional Serial Set (1817-1994) This link opens in a new window
reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives

Other Key Databases

The Libraries subscribe to over 400 databases (searchable computerized files) that cover journal articles from every discipline. Here are some highlights for historical research:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This expansive collection covers all disciplines with well over 5,000 journals and magazines included. This resource is an upgrade to the Academic Search Complete collection.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
communication studies, mass media, and journalism; coverage varies, some journals cover early 1900s-present
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
film and television theory, preservation & restoration, cinematography, and more; 1950s-present