Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database chronicles issues in government and public administration, public and social policy, and international relations through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources.
JSTOR includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Family Studies Abstracts
Covers marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT)
The most comprehensive & highest quality sociology research database, including full text for hundreds of journals & books & thousands of conference papers
Annual review articles in a variety of disciplines (including sociology, law & social science, and anthropology)
EBSCO Multiple Database Search
This page will show you ALL of the databases we purchase from EBSCO. You can choose several of them to search at once (very helpful if you have a multi-disciplinary topic)
Google Scholar (with Clemson links)
Use the left-hand column to limit by publication year. If the article link doesn't work in Scholar, go to the Get article copies page to try Plan B.
Database lists by subject
On the Libraries' Database A-Z list, use the drop-down list under All Subjects to see the Best Bets for databases in each subject at Clemson
Books, Articles & More (Primo)
Search articles, books and more. Combined interface to the vast majority of our eJournals as well items in the library catalog.
Citation Searching Using Web of Knowledge
Web of Science Core Collection
includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus; dates vary by index
Web of Science allows you to look for more current articles that cite an older paper you've already found. If you have a perfectly relevant piece of research from 2001, articles that have that paper in their bibliographies are likely to be more recent updates about the same topic. Here's how you do it:
- On the opening Web of Science search page, change Basic Search to Cited Reference Search above the search box
- Enter the name of the author of your article as shown, always with the asterisk! If the last name is a common one and the author uses his or her middle initial, you should include it: Switzer F* or Britt TW*
- Fill in the Cited Year - the year the article that you found was published - and click Search
- Look for the Cited Work that matches the journal title you have and the page number, if there is more than one. Click on View Record next to the correct article**.
- Click on the number next to Times Cited to bring up links to all of the articles that have that paper in their bibliographies. Now you can jump back and forth from citation to citation.
**If the correct Cited Work listing does not have a View Record link, then click the Select box next to the author's name for that listing. Then click on the Finish Search button. That will bring up all of the articles that cite that original paper
Database of full-text legal resources, including articles, classic books, law codes, court decisions, treaties, etc.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis)
Search on main page -- then, if you wish, limit your results to News or Law Reviews and whatever Location/Jurisdiction/Geography you want on the left-hand side
Law Library of Congress -- International Law
Use these links to find legal information for individual countries.
World Legal Information Institute
The most comprehensive FREE library of international law materials on the Internet. Over 80,000 searchable documents, including over 25,000 decisions of international courts and tribunals, over 30,000 treaties and international agreements (including the League of Nations and UN Treaty Series), international law journals and law reform materials.