Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World's Major Religions
via World Economic Forum
Manage your citations with RefWorks!
Use RefWorks to keep track of references
for research projects and automatically
format a paper and the bibliography.
Religion in South Carolina & United States
Encyclopedia of American Religions
Detroit : Thomson/Gale, c2003
Describes religious sects and cults across U.S.
Religion in South Carolina
ed. by Charles H. Lippy; Columbia, SC University of South Carolina Press, c1993
The South Carolina Encyclopedia
Columbia, S.C. : University of South Carolina Press, c2006
Entries on Asian Religions, Baha'is, Baptists, Catholics, Charismatics, Episcopalians, Jews, Methodists, Muslims, Latter-Day Saints, Lovers of Meher Baba, Pentecostals, Slave Religion, more
Digital South Carolina Encyclopedia
Builds on the 2006 volume; joint project of South Carolina Humanities, the University of South Carolina Press, the USC Libraries, the USC Center for Digital Humanities, the USC College of Arts & Sciences, the USC Institute for Southern Studies, the South Carolina State Library, and many other organizations
In Print (with some online coverage)
Word Biblical Commentary Series @ Clemson
Oxford Bibliographies - Biblical Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Subject sets currently include African American Studies, Biblical Studies, Cinema & Media Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latino Studies, Literary and Critical Theory, and Philosophy.
Greek 101: Learning an Ancient Language series
36 episodes via Kanopy
Presented by Hans-Friedrich Mueller, Ph.D., Union College, Schenectady, NY; includes workbook supplement
Key Religion Resources
Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window
all aspects of Judaica
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
index to articles (many with a link to full-text article) published in journals and books from 1949 to the present
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
international publications on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world; includes items by western orientalists, social scientists, and Muslims writing in European languages
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
index to literature, languages, archaeology, history, economy, philosophy, art, religion, science, technology, and all other aspects of ancient Greece and Rome (prehistory to 800 C.E.); publications 1924-present
Local & National Resources
Use your iRoar/Canvas login to access; request articles and books not owned by Clemson