Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Databases for Finding Articles
ATLA Religion Database
index to articles (many with links to full-text articles) published in journals and books from 1949 to the present
Religion & Philosophy Collection
provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy
online edition of the 22-volume encyclopedia published in 2007
international publications on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world; includes items by western orientalists, social scientists, and Muslims writing in European languages
index to literature, languages, archaeology, history, economy, philosophy, art, religion, science, technology, and all other aspects of ancient Greece and Rome (prehistory to 800 C.E.); publications 1924-present
Academic Search Complete
all subject areas, 1965-present
all aspects of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender life, coverage dates vary by publication
Get the Full Text
Don't see a link to the full-text of the article you want within the database?
- Look for a link to 'Search for Article' or 'Check Clemson Libraries Catalog.'
- Search for the journal title (NOT the article title) in the library catalog. This will tell you what years of the journal Clemson has access to, both online and in print.
If the journal you need is not available at Clemson in the year your article was published, request a copy using Interlibrary Loan (a free service for all Clemson University students, faculty, and staff).
Additional Article Databases
Humanities International Index
all areas of the humanities, 1925-present
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984
index to important journals in all areas of the humanities and social sciences, 1907-1984 (limited to 1 simultaneous user)This database provided courtesy of the Class of '55.
index to literature, languages, archaeology, history, economy, philosophy, art, religion, science, technology, and all other aspects of ancient Greece and Rome (prehistory to 800 C.E.), 1924-present
gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Web of Science Core Collection
includes arts & humanities journals and citation information
19th Century Masterfile
index to American and English periodicals (including many philosophical publications), 1786-1922
Current Contents Connect
all subject areas, 1998-present. Search by keywords or browse tables of contents of journals.
(limited to 5 simultaneous users)
Google Scholar (with Clemson links)
Broad search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
If you don't see Full-text @ Clemson links, go to Scholar Preferences, type Clemson in the Library Links search box, click Find Library, and select any Clemson options that appear. Then when you search, you'll see links to any article that Clemson has an online subscription to.