Skip to Main Content

History

America History and Life

Find Articles on General Historical Topics

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
more than 1,300 full-text scholarly journals
Access made possible with funding from the Class of '55 and Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowments

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
full-text information about world history from 1450-present (excluding the U.S. and Canada); 1954-present
Limit: 6 simultaneous users

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
full-text access to more than 300 scholarly journals

Arts and Humanities through the Eras This link opens in a new window
overview of architecture, dance, fashion, literature, music, philosophy, religion, theater, and visual arts from ancient Egypt through the Enlightenment

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This expansive collection covers all disciplines with well over 5,000 journals and magazines included. This resource is an upgrade to the Academic Search Complete collection.

Find Articles on American History

U.S. History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
includes primary sources, full-text journal articles, encyclopedia articles, and audio and video clips

AmDocs This link opens in a new window
documents for the study of American history, arranged chronologically

America History and Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian historical topics from prehistory to the present; 1964-present

Making of America This link opens in a new window
collection of 19th-century American books and journals

Find Articles on World History

Iter This link opens in a new window
This is a gateway to Medieval and Renaissance resources and information.

L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
index to literature, languages, archaeology, history, economy, philosophy, art, religion, science, technology, and all other aspects of ancient Greece and Rome (prehistory to 800 C.E.); publications 1924-present

Labyrinth This link opens in a new window
medieval studies resources

Perseus Digital Library This link opens in a new window
collections of ancient texts and translations, secondary sources, maps, and images

World History in Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
includes primary sources, full-text journal articles, encyclopedia articles, and audio and video clips

Google Scholar with Clemson Links

Google Scholar with Clemson Links
Want easier access to full-text articles? Use this link to search Google Scholar, then follow the "Full-text @ Clemson links." You can also limit your search with the filters on the left side, set up email alerts, and export citations directly into RefWorks!

Book Reviews

In many databases, adding the word "review" to a search for phrases from the book's title will find book reviews.

Other databases allow you to check a box or select reviews.

Academic Search Complete
- on the initial page, choose Document Type "Book Review"
JSTOR
- in the Advanced Search, check the Item Type box beside "Review"
Iter
- in the Advanced Search, select Type of Work "Review"

What if Clemson doesn't have the article online?

If Clemson Doesn't Own It: Interlibrary Loan Service