Historic Preservation: Professional Resources

A visual introduction to architectural styles common in North America.

Searchable collection of American and Canadian, pre-1964 architectural trade catalogs, house plan books and technical building guides, sponsored by the Internet Archive Text Archive.

Searchable directory of all downtown and mainstreet revitalization organizations in the US and Canada.

The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscape. This online presentation of the HABS/HAER/HALS collections includes digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.

Downloadable PDF from National Park Service with instructions for completing the National Register nomination form.

Information on the Main Street Program from the National Trust for Historic Preservation.

NCPTT advances the application of science and technology to historic preservation. Working in the fields of archeology, architecture, landscape architecture and materials conservation, the Center accomplishes its mission through training, education, research, technology transfer and partnerships. Website offers access to publications, programs, training and grant opportunities.

The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Website provides information on registering properties, searching for listed properties, publications, laws and regulations, and links to additional resources.

National Register Bulletin series provides guidance on evaluating, documenting, and listing different types of historic places.

These are good examples of listed properties in the National Register of Historic Places.

Specifications for creating photographs submitted with National Register nomination forms.

Preservation Briefs help historic building owners recognize and resolve common problems prior to work. The briefs are especially useful to Historic Preservation Tax Incentives Program applicants because they recommend methods and approaches for rehabilitating historic buildings that are consistent with their historic character.

The online resource for historic preservation, building restoration and cultural resource management in the United States & Canada. Website provides links to SHPOs, downtown and mainstreet groups, historic houses for sale, grant and other funding sources, preservation and restoration professionals and preservation publications.

Preservation Tech Notes provide practical information on traditional practices and innovative techniques for successfully maintaining and preserving cultural resources.

Links to preservation resources on the web, with an emphasis on New York State.

National Park Service Bulletin by Eleanor O'Donnell, 1991, revised 1998.

The Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation, codified as 36 CFR 67, are regulatory for the Historic Preservation Tax Incentives program. The Guidelines for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings and the Guidelines on Sustainability for Rehabilitating Historic Buildings, which assist in applying the Standards, are advisory.