Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Historic Preservation: Books & Media

Resources in support of the Clemson University/College of Charleston joint Master's and Certificate programs in Historic Preservation

Search the Clemson Libraries Catalog

Use the Libraries catalog's Advanced Search for the most focused results -- books, journals, articles, media and more.

Start with the @Clemson Libraries option for physical items and licensed e-resources. Expand your search to PASCAL Delivers to include in your results what our South Carolina partner libraries have to offer.

  • Combine Advanced Search with appropriate search limits : material type, online availability, exact title, etc.
  • In any item record, click on a subject heading to browse related materials. Subject heading searches are super-efficient.
  • Within an item record, scroll down to "Browse" to 'scan the shelves' for related items, virtually. Call numbers (items classed together by subject matter) are meaningful.
  • For e-books related to your search terms, select "Available online" under the Availability heading, to the right of your results.

Request items from any Libraries location for pickup at the Cooper Library, the Gunnin Architecture Library, or the Clemson Design Center Library in Charleston. The Request link is in the item record. ALWAYS sign in to the catalog, to see all delivery options. The sign in option is at the upper right of the Advanced Search page.

Off-Campus Delivery Service - if you live over 30 miles from the Clemson campus, items can be mailed to you.

Scan and Deliver - Request articles and book chapters as PDFs, delivered to your email address.

Find Books Beyond Clemson

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request books, journals, articles, and other materials not in Clemson collections from other libraries. The service is free! New users must first create an account.

To discover items available to you from college and university libraries throughout South Carolina, select PASCAL DELIVERS as your search mode on the Libraries' Advanced Search page. Make sure to Sign In to your account to see request options.

WorldCat is the combined catalog of participating libraries in 112 countries, with over 98 million records--an excellent tool for discovering resources. If Clemson doesn't own what you find in WorldCat, request items via interlibrary loan.

* For best results, use advanced search and apply appropriate limits..

  (Results will be sorted by type of material--Choose a type to increase search focus)

* Clemson holdings will be indicated & linked to the CU Libraries catalog.

Find Dissertations/Theses/Terminal Projects

Search Dissertations and Theses - Full Text to identify dissertations (1861-present) and theses (1957-present) in all subject areas from over 1,000 universities (including Clemson University), many of which are available in full text online.

To access full-text dissertations and theses specific to Clemson University, use the TigerPrints database (2006-present) and the Dissertations & Theses@Clemson database (1996-present).

You can also search the library catalog by author or title to find out whether a specific Clemson dissertation or thesis is available in the Libraries. "Terminal projects" (non-thesis Master's qualifications) are discoverable in TigerPrints. Use Interlibrary Loan to request items not in CU Libraries collections.

Request Books!

To get Clemson materials delivered to Charleston: Find a title either in our online catalog or via PASCAL. Click on the large green PASCAL emblem on the right of the record to equest available titles through PASCAL

To obtain books Clemson does not own: Interlibrary Loan: It's free! But can take time--plan ahead!

To add a title to the Gunnin or CDC.C collections:
Contact collection development librarian Kathy Edwards
2-112 Lee Hall
Phone: 864.656.4289
Email: kathye [at] clemson.edu

Google Book Search

When all else fails:

Google Book Search