Research and Course Guides: The Civil Rights Movement in South Carolina: Articles & Book Reviews

Key Databases

We subscribe to more than 400 databases (searchable computerized files) that cover journal articles from every discipline. Here are some highlights for historical research:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A great starting point for full-text articles from history journals, as well as magazines containing book reviews
America History and Life This link opens in a new window
US & Canadian history (prehistory to the present), covering 1700 journals from as far back as 1910
NAACP Papers via ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
This collection contains nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices and cover a time period from 1909 to 1972.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of full-text scholarly journals, including nearly 250 titles in history. Latest 5 years may not be covered, but links to other databases may lead to full text.
Google Scholar (with Clemson links) This link opens in a new window
If you are on the campus network, this source will often link to full text articles from online journals subscribed to by the Clemson Libraries.

Databases in Political Science
Selection of databases in the area of political science

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust contains millions of digitized publications from around the world, mainly from library, Google, and Internet Archive initiatives. To log in as a Clemson University member: click on LOG IN in the top right corner, select Clemson University from the dropdown menu, then Continue, and log in to the network using your CU username and password
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
full-text legal resources including articles, classic books, law codes, court decisions, treaties, and more
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
formerly PAIS International; government and public administration, public and social policy, and international relations; 1915-present.
Access made possible with funding from the Dr. Joseph A. Shirley Library Endowment
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
1965-present
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT) This link opens in a new window
sociology and related fields; 1895-present

Book Reviews

In many databases, adding the word "review" to a search for phrases from the book's title will find reviews.

Other databases allow you to check a box or choose the Document Type "book review." Among these are:

Academic Search Premier
America: History & Life

In JSTOR, check the ITEM TYPE box beside "review" in the Advanced Search.