Research and Course Guides: The Civil Rights Movement in South Carolina: Find Historical News Articles

Find Historical Newspaper Articles

19th Century Masterfile This link opens in a new window
index to American and English periodical articles; 1786-1922
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals Digital Archive, Part 2 This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of British magazines published in the 19th century.
Accessible Archives via History Commons This link opens in a new window
accounts of American historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, advertisements, and genealogical records
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
more than 350 U.S. newspapers from 35+ states, including rare 19th-century titles published for or by African Americans; see all titles
African American Newspapers - The 19th Century - Part 1 (part of Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
full text of Freedom's Journal, New York, 1827- Mar. 1829; Colored American, New York, 1837-Mar. 1840; The North Star, Rochester, NY, 1847-July 1849; National Era, Washington, DC, 1847-Dec. 1848
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Newspapers from 1690s to 1922.
Associated Press Collections Online: The Washington D.C. Bureau Collection, Part II (1915-1930) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes content from the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive with decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more
British Library Newspapers, Parts 1-5 This link opens in a new window
2 million newspaper pages from national and regional newspapers in Great Britain; 1746-1950
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspaper content for selected states from 1777 to 1963 with additional content added on a regular basis.
Civil War: a newspaper perspective This link opens in a new window
articles from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, & the Richmond Enquirer, November 1, 1860- April 15, 1865
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From colonies to nation (1690-1876) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes more than 730 invaluable American newspapers; published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society and based on authoritative bibliographies.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
This is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries from the latter half of the 20th century.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
searchable images from 500 newspaper titles of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. from the 19th century
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
full-text articles from Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal (eastern edition), Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune; dates vary by newspaper
Access made possible with funding from the William J. Latimer Endowment
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This includes African Newspapers Series I: 1835-1925 and Series II: 1800-1922 with diverse titles from Africa.
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from Latin America; includes 19th and 20th century newspapers
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers 1864-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from South Asia; includes 19th and 20th century newspapers
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
This expansive collection covers all disciplines with well over 5,000 journals and magazines included. This resource is an upgrade to the Academic Search Complete collection.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
all subject areas, 1995-present

Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Atlanta Daily World newspaper
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Boston Afro-American newspaper
Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
full-text of the Chicago Tribune; 1985-present
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Cleveland Call and Post newspaper
Financial Times Historical Archives This link opens in a new window
full text of The Financial Times from 1888-2010, including its incorporation of Financial News in 1945
Illustrated London News, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
This is the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. In 1855 it launched the world's first colour supplement. Over the years the publication played host to distinguished contributors and continued to push the boundaries of journalism throughout its history.
Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991 This link opens in a new window
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
full-text articles 1996-present
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1851-2005
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the New York Amsterdam News newspaper
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Norfolk Journal and Guide newspaper
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Philadelphia Tribune newspaper
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Pittsburgh Courier newspaper
Post & Courier (Charleston, S.C.) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 25 years of South Carolina history with the Post & Courier Collection. Coverage from 1994 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition.
State, The (Columbia, SC) (Previously The State Newspaper) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from The State newspaper
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This includes the complete text of The Times of London from 1785-2019.
Wall Street Journal, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1889-1991
Washington Post, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1877-1992

African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
more than 350 U.S. newspapers from 35+ states, including rare 19th-century titles published for or by African Americans; see all titles
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Newspapers from 1690s to 1922.
America's News (Now Access World News) This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business, education, government, health, jobs and careers, politics and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos, images and web-only content including the Anderson Independent-Mail, Post & Courier, The State, USA Today and international sources.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Atlanta Daily World newspaper
Illustrated London News, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
This is the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. In 1855 it launched the world's first colour supplement. Over the years the publication played host to distinguished contributors and continued to push the boundaries of journalism throughout its history.
British Library Newspapers, Parts 1-5 This link opens in a new window
2 million newspaper pages from national and regional newspapers in Great Britain; 1746-1950
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Atlanta Daily World newspaper
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Boston Afro-American newspaper
British Library Newspapers, Parts 1-5 This link opens in a new window
2 million newspaper pages from national and regional newspapers in Great Britain; 1746-1950
Chicago Defender (1909-1975) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Chicago Defender newspaper
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
full-text of the Chicago Tribune; 1985-present
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspaper content for selected states from 1777 to 1963 with additional content added on a regular basis.
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Cleveland Call and Post newspaper
Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
fully searchable copies of The Economist from 1843-2006
Financial Times Historical Archives This link opens in a new window
full text of The Financial Times from 1888-2010, including its incorporation of Financial News in 1945
Illustrated London News, 1842-2003 This link opens in a new window
This is the world's first pictorial weekly newspaper. In 1855 it launched the world's first colour supplement. Over the years the publication played host to distinguished contributors and continued to push the boundaries of journalism throughout its history.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
This is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries from the latter half of the 20th century.
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Los Angeles Sentinel newspaper
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
full-text articles 1996-present
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the New York Amsterdam News newspaper
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1851-2005
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Norfolk Journal and Guide newspaper
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of ProQuest historical editions of the Philadelphia Tribune newspaper
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) This link opens in a new window
search the full text of historical editions of the Pittsburgh Courier newspaper
Post & Courier (Charleston, S.C.) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 25 years of South Carolina history with the Post & Courier Collection. Coverage from 1994 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition.
State, The (Columbia, S.C.) (Previously The State) This link opens in a new window
Search more than 30 years of South Carolina history with The State Collection. Coverage from 1987 through today, including full-text, web-only content and full-color image edition.
The Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This includes the complete text of The Times of London from 1785-2019.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
full-text articles from Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal (eastern edition), Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune; dates vary by newspaper
Access made possible with funding from the William J. Latimer Endowment
US Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
includes The Greenville News, sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
full-text articles (Eastern edition); 1984-present
Wall Street Journal, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1889-1991
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1996-present
Washington Post, Historical This link opens in a new window
full-text articles; 1877-1992
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This includes African Newspapers Series I: 1835-1925 and Series II: 1800-1922 with diverse titles from Africa.
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from Latin America; includes 19th and 20th century newspapers
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers 1864-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from South Asia; includes 19th and 20th century newspapers

Historical Periodicals (Magazines)

American Pamphlet Series I, 1820-1922: From the New-York Historical Society This link opens in a new window
digitized pamphlets organized by genre, subject, author, and more
American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new window
digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century
British Periodicals Collection I & II This link opens in a new window
These collections contain hundreds of searchable full-text periodicals from 1681-1939.
Reconstruction of Southern States (Pamphlets) This link opens in a new window
open-access collection provides pamphlets that document one of the most politically-contentious and violent periods in American History; 1865-1869, 1877; part of Accessible Archives

The Tiger (Clemson University Newspaper)

Find articles from The Tiger, Clemson's campus newspaper