Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistics about US Government
CQ Press Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new window
Choose "Vital Statistics on American Politics"; "Voter Turnout in the United States" (Clemson subscription)
American National Election Studies
Data from ANES surveys on voting, public opinion, & political participation
Federal, State & Local Governments
Government employment, payroll, & financial statistics, along with tax revenues & information on the structure of state & local governments
SIPP: Survey of Income & Program Participation
Purpose: To collect source & amount of income, labor force information, program participation & eligibility data, & general demographic characteristics to measure the effectiveness of existing federal, state, & local programs
Congressional Votes Database
From the Washington Post, the U.S. Congress Votes Database documents every vote & member of the House & Senate since 1991. (free web resource, with ads)
More about Governments
United States Government Manual
Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, & executive branches, & much more.
Council of State Governments
Excellent source for current issues in state government, with useful content from the CSG Knowledge Center "Data Center" & "Resources" pages.
Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Subscription access to additional Gallup polling data. NOTE: Single user at a time!
Daily news, polls, public opinion on government, politics, economics, management. (Free)
Gallup Poll Briefing
Full text of poll results & analysis from the Gallup News Service, 5 items per week (Clemson subscription)
Harris Poll - News Page
Links to recent Harris Poll results and news articles.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
One of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion.
Pew Research Center
Provides information on the issues, attitudes & trends shaping America & the world. It does so by conducting public opinion polling & social science research; by analyzing news coverage; & by holding forums & briefings. (Free)
General Social Statistics
American Community Survey
An ongoing Census Bureau survey that provides data every year - giving communities the current information they need to plan investments & services
Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Provides data on national accounts, as well as state & local area personal income, GDP for states & metropolitan areas, & a link to the Survey of Current Business
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, & price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, & disseminate essential economic information to support public & private decision-making.
Portal for a wide variety of datasets from the U.S. government, including apps for managing data of all sorts
Federal Statistics Sources
Census & Other agency statistics sources
From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, includes data on Medicare, Medicaid, health care costs, children's health, etc.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research
Hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, & other fields. Clemson University is a Class B member; there are currently no costs associated with this service. Clemson's ICPSR Official Representative is Sandi Piazza at 656-3712.
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting & analyzing data related to education.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Comprehensive handbook of statistics, with links to more focused sources such as the State & Metropolitan Area Data Book, County & City Data Book, etc.
Uniform Crime Reports
Data on crime in the United States from the FBI.