Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Below are databases most closely related to communication studies generally. For both specific contexts (business, medicine, engineering, etc.) and multi-subject databases, see the entire list of article Databases A-Z.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
communication studies, mass media, and journalism (coverage varies; some journals go back to the early 1900s)
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Full text from SAGE's books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, and selected journal articles and videos plus case studies and data sets. Can be used to help design research projects and learn about specific qualitative and quantitative methods.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
all subject areas, 1965-present
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
more than 1,300 full-text scholarly journals
Access made possible with funding from the Class of '55 and Callie Jones Shirley Library Endowments
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
psychology and related fields, 1872-present
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from major psychology journals, 1987-present.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
psychology and related fields; full-text articles, 1965-present
Sociological Index with Full Text (SIFT) This link opens in a new window
sociology and related fields, 1895-present
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies, late 1800s-present
(limited to 5 simultaneous users)
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
all aspects of anthropology; coverage dates vary by publication
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
all aspects of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender life, coverage dates vary by publication
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
sports, physical fitness, and recreation; 1830-present
Limit: 4 simultaneous users
Selected journals in Communication available online from Cooper Library (please note older issues are sometimes only in print, ask Ed Rock email@example.com for assistance):
The first five databases to the left can be searched simultaneously. Open one, then look for the Choose databases link above the Select a field box. Put a check mark in the box by the databases you want to search and then click the OK button.
Locating Full Text
If a full-text link for an article is not available in a particular database, look for a link and click on it. You will be taken to a screen that hopefully has ; click on Article to get to the full-text article. If the Article link isn't present, click on the Journal link; you'll then select the year/volume/issue you need.
If you don't get the above screen, check the Library Catalog for holdings. Select Journal Title from the pull-down menu on the left and type the title of the journal in the search box.
If you're still unable to locate the full text, please Ask a Librarian to help you or request the article through Interlibrary Loan.