Primary Sources: Libraries & Archives - HIST 3040 - Industrialism and the Progressive Era (Grant) - Research and Course Guides at Clemson University

Government Publications as Primary Sources

Public records of governments are primary sources.

Cooper Library is a depository for US Federal & SC state documents.
The Monthly Catalog of U. S. Government Publications, 1895-1976, permits searching of older documents
State documents & Federal documents issued since 1976 are listed in the library catalog.
Both collections are shelved on the 3rd floor of Cooper Library, with their own call numbering systems.

Please contact a librarian for help with locating documents.

Historical Census Data
Census data online 1790 to Present
Social Explorer
Allows you to create maps and tables from:
The entire U.S. Census from 1790 to 2010.
The entire American Community Survey (ACS) from 2005 to 2014.
The FBI Uniformed Crime Report from 2010 and 2012.
The presidential, congressional and gubernatorial results from the Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections from 1912 to 2014.
The Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) from 1980 to 2010.
The County Health Rankings and Roadmaps Program data from 2010 to 2016.
Carbon Emissions Data for 2002 from the Vulcan Project.
The United Kingdom Census from 2011.
The Canadian Census from 2011.
The Eurostat survey from 1990, 2000, and 2010 to 2013.
The World Development Indicators from 2013.
Irish religion and population data from 1911 to 2001.
Plus new data sources added throughout the year.

Magazines as Primary Sources

Popular publications such as magazines are primary sources. Our library has bound print volumes & microfilms of many magazines from the late 19th & early 20th centuries forward.

Search for articles using these indexes (they generally don't include the full text of articles, but may link to other sources):

Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
index to general-interest periodical articles published in the U.S. since 1983; full text from 1994-present

Archives & Historical Societies

Archives preserve the documents & records of an organization & may contain unique or rare items. In general, they do not lend & have specific policies for using their facitilites, making copies, etc.