Research and Course Guides: Census and Community Demographics & Statistics: Newspaper Resources

Search Current Newspaper Collections

AP NewsMonitor Collection This link opens in a new window
real-time access to AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and State Reports; 30-day rolling archive. Access provided via Discus
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
more than 860 full-text newspapers plus television and radio news transcripts. Access provided via Discus
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
news, business, law, and general reference
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
business journals, newspapers, and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the U.S.; dates vary by publication
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
full-text articles from Los Angeles Times, New York Times, New York Times Book Review, New York Times Magazine, Wall Street Journal (eastern edition), Washington Post, and Chicago Tribune; dates vary by newspaper
Access made possible with funding from the William J. Latimer Endowment
US Southeast Newsstream This link opens in a new window
includes The Greenville News, sources from Washington DC, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.

Historic Newspaper Resources

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Newspapers from 1690s to 1922.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection includes newspaper content for selected states from 1777 to 1963 with additional content added on a regular basis.
African American Newspapers - The 19th Century - Part 1 (part of Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
full text of Freedom's Journal, New York, 1827- Mar. 1829; Colored American, New York, 1837-Mar. 1840; The North Star, Rochester, NY, 1847-July 1849; National Era, Washington, DC, 1847-Dec. 1848
African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
more than 350 U.S. newspapers from 35+ states, including rare 19th-century titles published for or by African Americans; see all titles
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
searchable images from 500 newspaper titles of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. from the 19th century
Early American Newspapers Series 1: From colonies to nation (1690-1876) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes more than 730 invaluable American newspapers; published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society and based on authoritative bibliographies.
British Library Newspapers, Parts 1-5 This link opens in a new window
2 million newspaper pages from national and regional newspapers in Great Britain; 1746-1950
World Newspaper Archive - African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This includes African Newspapers Series I: 1835-1925 and Series II: 1800-1922 with diverse titles from Africa.
World Newspaper Archive - Latin American Newspapers Series 1-2 1805-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from Latin America; includes 19th and 20th century newspapers
World Newspaper Archive - South Asian Newspapers 1864-1922 This link opens in a new window
diverse titles from South Asia; includes 19th and 20th century newspapers