Skip to Main Content

Biomedical Data Science & Informatics

This research guide contains resources for those studying or conducting research in biomedicine.

Databases for Bioinformatics Research

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
The NCBI provides resources for the retrieval and analysis of data from a huge number of sources, including BLAST, GeneBank, UniGene, and HomoloGene.
Public Health Genomics Databases This link opens in a new window
The CDC maintains a curated list of many databases in the field of genomics.

Ensembl
Ensembl is a genome browser for vertebrate genomes that supports research in comparative genomics, evolution, sequence variation and transcriptional regulation.
UCSC Genome Browser
The University of Santa Cruz's Genome Browser is developed and maintained by the Genome Bioinformatics Group, a cross-departmental team within the UCSC Genomics Institute.

Sociometrics This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) provides a collection of robust data archives with more than 600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables.

Tutorials for Bioinformatics Research

NCBI Section of the National Library of Medicine's YouTube Channel
Videos from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) including presentations and tutorials about NCBI biomolecular and biomedical literature databases.

Discovery Tools

OBRC
The Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection at the University of Pittsburgh contains annotations and links for 2458 bioinformatics databases and software tools.
SIB ExPASy
The Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics' SIB Bioinformatics Resource Portal provides access to scientific databases and software tools in proteomics, genomics, phylogeny, systems biology, population genetics, and transcriptomics.