Discover published policy reports from leading government, think tanks, and other non-government organizations. View cited references and navigate to research publications used to formulate public policy recommendations.
Health Policy Application for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals
by
Health care providers frequently engage in setting policy agenda at the individual, systems, institutional, or public level. Health Policy: Application for Nurses and Other Health Care Professionals, Second Edition provides an overview of the policy making process within a variety of settings including academia, clinical practice, communities, and various health care systems. By including both policy evaluation and research, the author provides a comprehensive and multi-perspective approach to developing and formulating effective health care policy. The Second Edition has been updated to include new chapters on the following topic areas: board governance and policy leadership, institutional and organizational and association policy, healthcare systems and global health policy. In addition, the text provides key information on the process of policy search process and offers and expanded policy institute listing. New to the Second EditionUpdated references Additional figures, tables and templatesNew case studies Key Point Boxes in each chapter highlight key concepts Primary source referencing for definitions (Black's Law Dictionary) Instructor Resources: ManualTransition GuideCase studiesTest bankPowerPoint slides
Health Policy and Politics: a Nurse's Guide
by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Health Policy and Politics: A Nurse's Guide, Sixth Edition encompasses the entire health policy process from agenda setting through policy and program evaluation. This is an essential text for both graduate and undergraduate students. The Sixth Edition features expanded information on the breadth of policy making and includes the impact of social media, economics, finance and other timely topics. The authors draw from their extensive experience and provides concrete examples of real-life situations that help students understand the link between nursing, policy theory and political action.New to the Sixth Edition:Updated theory content across all chaptersNew case studies reflect current issuesDiscussion Points connect theory to practiceNew chapter focused on how students can become involved in the policy process
Health Policy and Advanced Practice Nursing, Second Edition
by
Praise for the First Edition: "There are many policy books, but none are written by APRNs or focus just on APRN practice...APRNs are at the core, or can be, if they use their practice knowledge and education to shape policy... The] editors eloquently make the case that policy formation is a critical nursing skill." --Doody's Medical Reviews The only book of its kind, this text offers a wealth of information about the role of all types of APRNs (NPs, CNSs, CNMs, and CRNAs) in influencing the development and application of health care policy in a wide range of specialties. Featuring nine completely new chapters, the second edition delivers an invigorated focus on developing policy that advocates for vulnerable populations and discusses how the incorporation of interprofessional education has changed and will continue to alter health policy in the U.S. and internationally. The text also discusses the evolving influence of the Patient Protection Affordable Care Act (PPACA) and the implications of current and future health policy changes that will be impacting the practice of various APRN roles. Authored by APRN luminaries who have been closely involved with health policy development, the text meets the requirements of the IOM report on The Future of Nursing and the DNP criteria V for the inclusion of health policy and advocacy in the curriculum. This "call to action" for APRNs is specifically designed for courses enrolling students from a variety of APRN trajectories, and includes content from all APRN role perspectives in every section. New to the Second Edition: Emphasizes policy development advocating for vulnerable populationsDiscusses the current and future influence of interprofessional educaton on health policy in the U.S. and worldwideAddresses how health policy changes will impact the various APRN rolesIncludes nine new chapters on: Health Policy and its Effect on Large Systems, Value-Based Purchasing, Health Care Reform and Independent Practice, Health Policy Implications Regarding Substance Abuse/PTSD Treatment, Genetics, Competency Issues, and The International Council of Nurses Key Features: Addresses role-specific policy needs of all four APRN roles and DNPsEncompasses all requisite information about health care policy and reform in the U.S. and worldwide and its impact on advanced practice nursingMeets the requirements of IOM's The Future of Nursing and DNP criteria VExplains how and why APRNs can and should influence policy developmentDiscusses implications of not participating in health policy decisions
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Ninth Edition
by
The simplest, most-readable guide to navigating health care delivery in the United States One of the most popular resources of its kind, Understanding Health Policy: A Clinical Approach provides everything you need to master the U.S. health care system's nuances and complexities. Written by practicing primary care physicians who are experts in health care policy, this comprehensive guide covers the entire scope of the U.S. health care system and draws on lessons from systems in other nations. New content in this fully updated edition includes deeper coverage of: * Cost and financing issues, with an emphasis on how it impacts the U.S. economy * Public health systems, including a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic's impact on health policy and delivery * Social determinants of health and disparities * Professional burnout and its impact on health care delivery * The Affordable Care Act, Accountable Care Organizations, and system consolidation Packed with clinical vignettes highlighting key policy issues and clarifying difficult concepts, Understanding Health Policy weaves key principles, descriptions, and concrete examples into chapters that make vital health policy issues interesting and understandable. Whether you're a student, medical practitioner, or public policy professional, you will come away with a clearer, more systematic way of thinking about our health care system, its biggest challenges, and the most effective ways of making it better for everyone.
Using Nursing Research to Shape Health Policy
by
Examining the crucial interrelationship between nursing research and health policy, this book presents examples of specific health care policies that have been influenced, implemented, or changed as a result of nursing research. It builds on the discussion of this relationship in the editors' earlier book, Shaping Health Policy Through Nursing Research, named a Doody's Core Title in 2013 and an AJN Book of the Year in 2011. This book updates earlier information with new nursing research by esteemed scholars. It encompasses research related to major policy directives of the decade, including the Institute of Medicine's The Future of Nursing report, the Affordable Care Act, and the genomic nursing science blueprint, and highlights how they have influenced, and will continue to influence, health policy. Relevant for a wide range of readers, including undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and nursing professionals, the book describes how science shapes health policy in general, discusses models and strategies for linking research and health policy, and presents multiple examples of how major nursing research has influenced health policy. The text provides both a conceptual orientation and an operational approach to strategies linking research to policy and influencing policy makers at the organizational, community, state, national, and international levels. Key Features: Offers examples of cutting-edge nursing research providing a foundation for practice and policyIncorporates major policy directives of this decade and highlights how nursing research has influenced health policyDemonstrates to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and nursing professionals how nursing research can shape health policy decisionsIncludes perspectives, models, and strategies for using nursing research to influence health policyAddresses how nursing research shapes policy at organizational, community, state, national, and international levels
Evidence-Informed Health Policy, Second Edition
by
"What happens in health policy at local, state, and federal levels directly affects patients, nurses, and nursing practice. Some healthcare professionals, though, are intimidated by the complex and often nonlinear policy process or simply dont know how to take the first step toward implementing policy change. In the second edition of Evidence-Informed Health Policy, authors Jacqueline M. Loversidge and Joyce Zurmehly demystify health policymaking and equip nurses and other healthcare professionals with the knowledge, tools, and confidence to navigate the first of many steps into health policy. This book translates the EBP language of clinical decision-making into an evidence-informed health policy (EIHP) model-a foundation for integrating evidence into health policymaking and leveraging dialogue with stakeholders. Readers will develop a stronger understanding of policymaking and its role within government, learn strategies for influencing policymakers, and help shape future healthcare policy that makes the best use of evidence. This new edition includes: Fresh perspectives on the use of evidence to inform smart health policy, learned knowledge of the COVID-19 pandemic and global crisis to more effectively strategize for sound policy informed by the best science, a new visual graphic representation of the EIHP Model with added descriptions of the EIHP process, and additional breadth and depth on policymaking theories and models"--