Practical Implementation Science
by
Bryan J. Weiner (Editor); Kenneth Sherr (Editor); Cara C. Lewis (Editor)
Prose Award Finalist for Nursing and Allied Health Services Category! Awarded First Place in the AJN 2022 Book of the Year Awards in the Community/Public Health Category! "Practical Implementation Science: Moving Evidence Into Action provides the ideal text for a master's-level implementation science course. It fills an important gap by focusing on building skills among trainees whose careers will focus more on implementation practice than research, and prepares them to partner with scientists to enhance effective implementation in public health and health systems. Most importantly, my students feel that the book is helping make a topic that can be experienced as complex, very accessible." Donna Shelley, MD, MPH Professor Dept. Public Health Policy and Management Director, Global Center for Implementation Science NYU School of Global Public Health Practical Implementation Science is designed for graduate health professional and advanced undergraduate students who want to master the steps of using implementation science to improve public health. Engaging and accessible, this textbook demonstrates how to implement evidence-based practices effectively through use of relevant theories, frameworks, models, tools, and research findings. Additional real-world case studies across public health, global health, and health policy provide essential context to the major issues facing implementation domestically and globally with consideration of communities in low-to-middle-income countries (LMIC). The textbook is organized around the steps involved in planning, executing, and evaluating implementation efforts to improve health outcomes in communities. Coverage spans assessing the knowledge-practice gap; selecting an evidence-based practice (EBP) to reduce the gap; assessing EBP fit and adapting the EBP; assessing barriers and facilitators of implementation; engaging stakeholders; creating an implementation structure; implementing the EBP; and evaluating the EBP effort. Each chapter includes a "how to" approach to conducting the task at hand. The text also addresses the practical importance of implementation science through disseminating EBPs; scaling up EBPs; sustaining EBPs; and de-implementing practices that are no longer effective. All chapters include learning objectives and summaries with emphasized Key Points for Practice, Common Pitfalls in Practice, and discussion questions to direct learning and classroom discussion. Fit for students of public health, health policy, nursing, medicine, mental health, behavioral health, allied health, and social work, Practical Implementation Science seeks to bridge the gap from scientific evidence to effective practice. Key Features: Soup to Nuts Approach - Distills the steps to selecting, adapting, implementing, evaluating, scaling up, and sustaining evidence-based practices Expert Insight - Editors and chapter authors bring years of experience from leading implementation programs and interventions Multidisciplinary Focus - Utilizes cases and research findings relevant to students of public health, medicine, nursing, mental health, behavioral health, and social work Case Studies and Real-World Examples - Blends frameworks, models, and tools with real-world examples for students interested in both domestic and global health eBook Access - Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computers Instructor's Packet - Complete with an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, and a Sample Syllabus
ISBN: 9780826186928
Publication Date: 2022-03-28
Practical Implementation Science
by
Prose Award Finalist for Nursing and Allied Health Services Category! Awarded First Place in the AJN 2022 Book of the Year Awards in the Community/Public Health Category! "Practical Implementation Science: Moving Evidence Into Action provides the ideal text for a master's-level implementation science course. It fills an important gap by focusing on building skills among trainees whose careers will focus more on implementation practice than research, and prepares them to partner with scientists to enhance effective implementation in public health and health systems. Most importantly, my students feel that the book is helping make a topic that can be experienced as complex, very accessible." Donna Shelley, MD, MPH Professor Dept. Public Health Policy and Management Director, Global Center for Implementation Science NYU School of Global Public Health Practical Implementation Science is designed for graduate health professional and advanced undergraduate students who want to master the steps of using implementation science to improve public health. Engaging and accessible, this textbook demonstrates how to implement evidence-based practices effectively through use of relevant theories, frameworks, models, tools, and research findings. Additional real-world case studies across public health, global health, and health policy provide essential context to the major issues facing implementation domestically and globally with consideration of communities in low-to-middle-income countries (LMIC). The textbook is organized around the steps involved in planning, executing, and evaluating implementation efforts to improve health outcomes in communities. Coverage spans assessing the knowledge-practice gap; selecting an evidence-based practice (EBP) to reduce the gap; assessing EBP fit and adapting the EBP; assessing barriers and facilitators of implementation; engaging stakeholders; creating an implementation structure; implementing the EBP; and evaluating the EBP effort. Each chapter includes a "how to" approach to conducting the task at hand. The text also addresses the practical importance of implementation science through disseminating EBPs; scaling up EBPs; sustaining EBPs; and de-implementing practices that are no longer effective. All chapters include learning objectives and summaries with emphasized Key Points for Practice, Common Pitfalls in Practice, and discussion questions to direct learning and classroom discussion. Fit for students of public health, health policy, nursing, medicine, mental health, behavioral health, allied health, and social work, Practical Implementation Science seeks to bridge the gap from scientific evidence to effective practice. Key Features: Soup to Nuts Approach - Distills the steps to selecting, adapting, implementing, evaluating, scaling up, and sustaining evidence-based practices Expert Insight - Editors and chapter authors bring years of experience from leading implementation programs and interventions Multidisciplinary Focus - Utilizes cases and research findings relevant to students of public health, medicine, nursing, mental health, behavioral health, and social work Case Studies and Real-World Examples - Blends frameworks, models, and tools with real-world examples for students interested in both domestic and global health eBook Access - Included with print purchase for use on most mobile devices or computers Instructor's Packet - Complete with an Instructor's Manual, PowerPoint slides, and a Sample Syllabus
Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence-Based Practice: Linking Evidence to Action
by
The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and mirrors the remit of "Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing," encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. "Models and Frameworks for Implementing Evidence- Based Practice: Linking Evidence to Action," looks at ways of implementing evidence gained through research and factors that influence successful implementation. It acknowledges the gap that exists between obtaining evidence and the practicalities of putting it into practice and provides direction to help to close this gap. This, the first book in the series, helps the reader to make decisions about the appropriateness of using various models and frameworks. A selection of models and frameworks are examined in detail including examples of their use in practice. The book concludes with an analysis and synthesis of the included models and frameworks. The Models and frameworks that have been included are based on a number of criteria: that they are internationally recognised, have undergone widespread evaluation and testing, are transferable across different settings, and can be used by different disciplines. Models and frameworks include: Stetler ModelOttowa Model of Research UseIOWA model of evidence-based practiceAdvancing Research and Clinical Practice through Close Collaboration (ARCC) modelDobbins' dissemination and use of research evidence for policy and practice frameworkJoanna Briggs Institute modelKnowledge to Action frameworkPromoting Action on Research Implementation in Health Services (PARIHS) Key Points: There are chapters that provide an overview of implementation issues and the use of theory and frameworks in implementing evidence into practiceChapters are written by the developers of the model or frameworkEach chapter provides background on an implementation model or framework, suitable applications, underlying theory and examples of use.Each chapter examines strengths and weaknesses of each model alongside barriers and facilitators for its implementation
