Research and Course Guides: Women's Leadership: Home

Best bets

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 2,000 periodicals for articles about the sociology, history, literature, economics, and psychology of women in society.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies; late 1800s-present
Anthrosource This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-text access to the journals of the American Anthropological Association.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Primary source content plus full text of significant journals, magazines, books, and regional newspapers and a thesaurus; dates vary by publication
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
communication studies, mass media, and journalism; coverage varies, some journals cover early 1900s-present

These electronic sources will give you basic overviews of concepts in the discipline:

Dictionary of Anthropology [Blackwell]
Click on the full text of the book and then search for your topic.
Routledge Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
Click on the full text of the book and then search for your topic (the magnifying glass icon).
Dictionary of the Social Sciences
Part of Oxford Reference collection

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender This link opens in a new window
gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality plus articles on over 80 cultures around the world

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
comprehensive English-language dictionary showing usage across history
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, quotations, and more