Research and Course Guides: Library Resources to Support Online Teaching &amp; Learning: Streaming Media

Streaming Media by Type

Our collection of streaming media can enhance your course instruction and provide you with engaging resources for student learning.

Contact your Subject Librarian to find out how to incorporate media into your courses. For group viewings outside of classes, you need to secure and pay for public performance rights unless the films automatically come with them (see comments next to each provider below).

Libby (Overdrive) This link opens in a new window
To read or listen to Overdrive books and audiobooks on your mobile device, just download the free Libby app from the app store appropriate to your device

SWANK Digital Campus
With over 25,000 films, documentaries and TV shows, Swank Digital Campus provides colleges and universities with the largest academic streaming collection of its kind. For public performance rights and pricing information, call Swank's College Events department at 800-876-5577
Kanopy
On-demand streaming service that includes independent, foreign, class & documentary films. To see if a film comes with public performance rights, click on the title and look for PPR next to the film's run time
Films on Demand
Mostly documentaries. All of them automatically come with public performance rights
TigerFlix
TigerFlix is a free video streaming service available for Clemson users provided by Clemson Home

From audiobooks to open access videos, our collection of audio/video materials satisfies a wide range of users

Streaming Audiobooks with Libby App
Clemson users can download audiobooks via the Libby App
American Experience
250 films produced by PBS that document the American experience
FIAF Affiliates Online: Film/AV Collections
Free access to the holdings of International Federation of Film Archive affiliates worldwide
folkstreams.net
A national preserve of documentary films about American roots cultures
Open Culture
675 open movies, in addition to a number of audio books, open courses, ebooks, and textbooks
Open Video Project
Thousands of open videos hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
SnagFilms
Access to thousands of documentary and independent films.
SoundCloud
Create and share sounds on this social sharing platform
TED
Riveting talks by remarkable people, free to the world
University of California Television
Educational Videos on many subjects produced by the University of California system
Pond5
Free Stock Videos, Photos, and Music: a collection of complimentary HD & 4K stock footage videos, photos, and music tracks to inspire your audience

Create your own media with our collection of Open Access & Creative Commons resources

ccMixter
Community site with Creative Commons remixes and samples
Free Music Archive
Music in a variety of genres that can be downloaded for free and, in many cases, re-used in presentations, websites, etc.
Jamendo
more than 412,000 audio tracks with Creative Commons licensing
Vimeo - Creative Commons
Browse videos licensed for reuse and learn about permission types
YouTube
Search YouTube by Creative Commons to find open access content

Films/TV and Copyright

Title 17 U.S. Code § 110 provides a specific exemption to copyright limitations on display and performance of film and music in the classroom including:

Performance occurs in the course of face-to-face teaching activities of a nonprofit educational institution;
in a classroom or similar place devoted to instruction;
with a pedagogical purpose;
via a lawfully made copy.

For the purposes of Clemson, this applies to in-person and virtual classes as well as any other public screenings.

More information about Films/TV Copyright from Furman University
This guide has a handy chart to learn more about ways you can use media in the classroom

Library Resources to Support Online Teaching & Learning

Media Databases