Families and Their Health Care after Homelessness by
First published in 1999. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Health and Welfare for Families in the 21st Century by
2003 AJN BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD WINNER!In Health and Welfare for Families in the 21st Century, Second Edition, leaders in the maternal and child health field analyze the revolutionizing effect of changes occurring today in the social, educational, political, and economic aspects of family health care. This authoritative collection of readings provides a basic overview of the health and social welfare systems, and the policy and insurance infrastructure surrounding those systems. In this edition, a major emphasis is placed on the effect of managed care on these systems, and the effect of new legislation on families and children.
Handbook of Families and Health by
This unique Handbook presents a wide range of chapters representing state-of-the-art summaries of research related to couple, marital, and family influences on health. In addition, coverage includes issues related to public policy, healthcare financing, and the conduct of funded research related to families and health. Coverage is broad with contributions from academics across a variety of disciplines. A major goal is to highlight common issues, concerns, and goals across diverse fields and the benefits of bringing multiple perspectives to bear on these issues. A significant portion of the handbook is also devoted to interventions to improve family health in such areas as genetically transmitted diseases, illnesses of childhood, chronic illness, caregiving, and medical family therapy.
Determinants of Health by
This collection of Michael Grossman's most important papers adds essential background and depth to his work on economic determinants of public health.
Understanding Health Inequalities by
Hilary Graham and her contributors outline the enduring link between people's socioeconomic circumstances and their health and tackle questions at the forefront of research and policy on health inequalities. These include: How health is influenced by circumstances across people's lives and by the areas in which they live How health is simultaneously shaped by inequalities of gender, ethnicity and socioeconomic position How policies can impact on health inequalities All the chapters have been specially written for the new edition by internationally-recognised researchers in social and health inequalities. The book provides an authoritative guide to these fields as well as presenting new research. Contributors Karl Atkin, Mel Bartley, G. David Batty, David Blane, Bo Burström, Danny Dorling, Anne Ellaway, Hilary Graham, Barbara Hanratty, Kate Hunt, Saffron Karlsen, Catherine Law, Sally Macintyre, James Nazroo, Naomi Rudoe, Bethan Thomas, Rachel Thomson, Margaret Whitehead
Handbook of Families and Poverty by
''The Brigham Young University Family Studies Center sponsored a three-day research conference on Families and Poverty in March of 2004. The conference covered a broad range of topics including parenting, health care for poor families, how family processes influence families experiencing economic hardship, consequences of welfare reform in the United States, economic status of ethnically diverse elderly, and microentrepreneurship in developing countries. This handbook was built out of the papers presented at this conference.'' ''According to the U.S. Census Bureau, #65533;In 2004, 37 million people [in the U.S.] were in poverty, up 1.1 million from 2003.#65533;#65533; That#65533;s a 12.5% increase in one year. Worse yet - the rate has increased over the last four consecutive years. A major goal of this handbook will be to highlight the common issues and concerns related to how this is affecting families. Disciplines represented will include: business, child development, family studies, marriage and family therapy, nursing, political science, population studies, psychology, public policy, social work, and sociology. 'Written by respected scholars from a variety of relevant disciplines, this handbook will cover hotly debated issues associated with public policy and funded research as they relate to families and poverty. Contributors, bringing multiple perspectives to bear, will aim to show alternatives to welfare in subgroups facing specific challenges that are currently not adequately addressed by the welfare system. (Several works have focused on welfare reform and poverty, but few have included as extensive a discussion.) Readers wil lalso appreciate the insightful summaries of research involving poverty and its relationship to couple, marital, and family dynamics. 2004 is the most recent year for which this sort of census information is available.
Introduction to the US Food System: Public Health, Environment, and Equity by
A public health approach to the US food system Introduction to the US Food System: Public Health, Environment, and Equity is a comprehensive and engaging textbook that offers students an overview of today's US food system, with particular focus on the food system's interrelationships with public health, the environment, equity, and society. Using a classroom-friendly approach, the text covers the core content of the food system and provides evidence-based perspectives reflecting the tremendous breadth of issues and ideas important to understanding today's US food system. The book is rich with illustrative examples, case studies, activities, and discussion questions. The textbook is a project of the Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future (CLF), and builds upon the Center's educational mission to examine the complex interrelationships between diet, food production, environment, and human health to advance an ecological perspective in reducing threats to the health of the public, and to promote policies that protect health, the global environment, and the ability to sustain life for future generations. Issues covered in Introduction to the US Food System include food insecurity, social justice, community and worker health concerns, food marketing, nutrition, resource depletion, and ecological degradation. Presents concepts on the foundations of the US food system, crop production, food system economics, processing and packaging, consumption and overconsumption, and the environmental impacts of food Examines the political factors that influence food and how it is produced Ideal for students and professionals in many fields, including public health, nutritional science, nursing, medicine, environment, policy, business, and social science, among others Introduction to the US Food System presents a broad view of today's US food system in all its complexity and provides opportunities for students to examine the food system's stickiest problems and think critically about solutions.
The Effects of Intimate Partner Violence on Children by
Learn how to help children cope with domestic violence! The Effects of Intimate Partner Violence on Children examines the short- and long-term developmental issues facing children exposed to violence in their own homes. The book addresses the growing concern for children at risk of suffering psychological, behavioral, social, and educational problems, and for the effects childhood maltreatment may have on their adult lives. An interdisciplinary panel of researchers, academicians, attorneys, clinicians, and practitioners discuss treatment programs, theoretical perspectives, research and methodological issues, assessment and intervention, and forensic issues, including child custody. The Effects of Intimate Partner Violence on Children addresses the emotional and behavioral disturbances children can suffer after being exposed to violence between their parents. It examines methodological and theoretical challenges, pilot programs for treatment, intervention models, therapeutic curricula, and family law. Practitioners and academics review dozens of studies, representative samples, probability samples, and research findings relating to children's internalizing and externalizing behaviors, adjustment difficulties, coping strategies. The book also examines: the association between emotional regulation and emotionality and marital and parent-child conflict in terms of children's adjustment and physical health how the experience of mothers in low-income families suffering severe physical abuse relates to children's behavior problems. how father-to-mother aggression reduces children's affinity with their parents problems of service delivery for battered mothers Canadian legislation involving wife abuse and child custody the well-being of families accessing treatment group interventions implemented in family agency and school settings how to develop interagency protocols and much more! The Effects of Intimate Partner Violence on Children is an essential resource for professionals, advocates, and practitioners who work with abused children and maltreating families.
Infants, Toddlers, and Families in Poverty by